While all the programs are compatible with Windows, the ones I recommend also have very good mobile apps as well. I prefer the multi-platform capability because it allows me to have one program that monitors all of my family’s devices. During my tests, Qustodio performed very well and had the best overall score out of all the programs I tested. It has a strong web filter, flexible screen time management tools, and a parent dashboard that I could access from any device. Best of all, Qustodio comes with a proven 30-day money-back guarantee. I tested this policy by requesting a refund after 22 days of use and I received my complete refund in just 3 business days. Monitor Your Kids Devices with Qustodio!

Quick Guide: Rundown of the Best Parental Control Programs for Windows in 2023

Monitor Your Kids Devices with Qustodio!

Top 6 Parental Control Programs for Windows

1. Qustodio: #1 Parental Control software for window with Excellent Web Filter and Screen Time Tools

Key Features The first thing that jumped out to me when testing Qustodio for Windows was that I was able to set up different user profiles for each kid, on one computer. This was important since my 16-year-old didn’t want to have the same web filter as the 7-year-old, and it would be impossible to enforce time limits if all the kids were grouped together. Speaking of time limits, I was very happy with the flexibility of the screen time controls. I was able to set both a daily time limit and create a schedule that blocked the computer at specific times. Qustodio gives two options for what happens when the screen time is up:

Lock Navigation: This disables the internet, but the computer is still functional. I liked this option, as it allowed my kids to use the computer for writing assignments on Word or PowerPoint, but kept them from getting distracted and going online instead. Lock Device: This option logs all users off the desktop. I found this to be a good option at bedtime.

The only issue I had with the schedule feature was that the schedule grid is broken up into hour-long segments, with no option to adjust it. So if, for example, I wanted the computer off from 6:00 – 6:30 for dinner — I wasn’t able to. The web filter is fully customizable. It has 30 categories and gives the option to Allow, Block, or send me an Alert if the kids try to go to a site with that category. I tested the filter on Chrome, Firefox, and Edge and it worked very well. The parent dashboard can be accessed from any device and makes it easy to set up the rules, time limits, and get details on what the kids are doing on the computer. Qustodio has a 30-day free trial, with no credit card required, so you can try it yourself risk-free. At the end of the trial, I had the option of purchasing one of the subscription plans or using the limited free plan. Try Qustodio for Free for 30 Days!

2. Bark: Strong Social Media Monitoring Tools and Screen Time Limits

Key Features Bark is a bit different from the other parental control programs that I’ve tested. Its main focus is social media monitoring. It is compatible with over 30 of the leading social networks and will monitor the activities, chats, images, and posts on an account level. This means that it doesn’t really matter if the kids are chatting on the computer, phone, or tablet. Bark will be able to recognize what is going on, through smart AI keyword, emoji, and slang recognition. I used the web filter to block access to specific websites and general website categories that I didn’t want my kids viewing. These included sites that write about, and have images, glorifying violence, drugs, and sex. The Screen Time management features allow me to choose a “bedtime” when the internet is blocked. The phone can still be used to make and receive calls, ut at least I know that my kids aren’t sitting in bed watching YouTube videos all night. Bark has a really nice dashboard which I can log in from any device and see the reports and relevant information. Thanks to these reports, I found out that one of my kids was being cyberbullied on Snapchat and was able to help out before things got even worse. Bark recently upgraded its Windows features to include a monitoring feature that works with most of the popular browsers. The software will monitor and create reports based on the website metadata, page titles, web searches, and some images and videos that are saved to the device. Bark has two subscription options, Bark Jr. and Bark Sr. I got the Bark Sr. account which included all the premium features and has a free 7 day trial with no need to enter any payment information. This gave me plenty of time to connect Bark with my kid’s social media and email accounts, and see just how reliable the monitoring features were for PC. Try Bark Free For 7 Days!

3. Mobicip: Default Web Filter and Screen Time Limits Based on Child’s Age

I found Mobicip for Windows to be an easy parental control tool to use. Once I downloaded and installed the app on the computer, I was able to create filters and monitor all online activity remotely. The web filter is based on 18 different categories, and it’s on by default, with categories blocked based on the child’s age. I made some adjustments based on my son’s personality and browsing habits and then added specific URLs that I wanted to block, even though they would be allowed based on the category filter. After a web filter, the next important task was to enforce screen time limits on the computer. Mobicip has a few tools for managing screen time. The first is a schedule of when the computer is available. Within each time, I can also customize the type of activity they can do on the computer. For example, I can create a time block for homework, where entertainment and social media sites are blocked, but educational sites are available. During school hours or at night, I can block the internet completely. In addition to the usage calendar, I can set an overall time limit per day. Just because the computer is available for 7 hours a day doesn’t mean I want my child sitting at the computer the entire time. Lastly, if I need my son off the computer, I can always clock all devices, which restrict internet usage regardless of what the schedule of daily time usage says. The one thing I found troubling is that during the installation, I got a message that I would need to uninstall Norton or Kaspersky antivirus, as the programs are not compatible with each other. Mobicip has several subscription tiers, depending on how many devices you want to monitor and which features you need. The Basic plan is free but doesn’t give you access to the advanced screen time or filtering option. The Standard and Premium options allow for monitoring up to 20 different devices and complete control over the devices. You can activate the Mobicip 7-day free trial, without having to enter your credit card information, to test the features and see which plan is best for your family. Try Mobicip free for 7 Days!

4. Norton Family: Safe Remote Learning Feature and 24/7 Location Tracking

Key Features One of the best things about Norton is how easy it makes everything. From installing the software and setting up child accounts to customize the web filters and the screen time limitations. Of course, none of this would matter if the software didn’t work the way it should, so I challenged my kids to beat the app. They tried to extend their screen time limits, access websites I blocked, and watch YouTube videos to see if I knew what they watched or how much time they spent on it. I was happy to see that they were unable to bypass the restrictions and that Norton Family includes a link for the kids to ask permission to access what they can’t, so you can open a dialogue about it. With its web filter, Norton Family gives me complete control over when setting the web restrictions. Based on the text, metadata, and images on the website, Norton Family uses AI to place every website into at least one of 47 categories. I felt comfortable letting my kids use their phones to browse the web since I couldn’t find any weaknesses in the web filter. But you don’t have to take my word for it. You can try out Norton Family free for 30 days without having to enter any payment information. This will give you full access to all its features and unlimited account across multiple devices for your kids. Try Norton Family for free for 30 days!

5. Net Nanny: AI-Powered Web Filtering

Key Features One thing I really liked about the Net Nanny web filter is that it doesn’t just block words (unless I instruct it to) but it understands the context. So for example, if my son was looking up a chicken breast recipe, it didn’t block it according to the “Sex” guidelines. I set up different profiles for each of the kids and had them log in each time they got on the computer. This way, I was able to set up a detailed schedule and a daily screen time limit. I really liked that I could block the internet at any time and from anywhere, through the parent dashboard. I signed up for the plan that includes 5 devices. They also have a Desktop Only plan, which is perfect if your kids don’t have a smartphone. Whatever plan you choose, you can try it risk-free with their 14-day money-back guarantee before making a decision Get the Net Nanny Free for 30 Days!

6. FamiSafe: Blocks Websites on all Browsers and Gets Real-Time Reports

FamiSafe by Wondershare has an extensive web filter that works on all major browsers. I had my kids try and bypass it with Incognito Mode. Not only were they unsuccessful, but the parental control tool kept a record of all activity that occurred in Incognito Mode. The web filter has over 20 categories that cover nearly every type of website, and I was able to choose which to allow and which to restrict. The FamiSafe screen times can use some improvement. There is a daily usage limit, which is nice, but the calendar is not very customizable. I can pick a time in the morning to unlock the device and a time at night to lock it, but nothing in between. However, it does include an Instant Block option, which is nice, but I would prefer something automatic. One thing I do like about the screentime options is that I can set restrictions or completely block apps that were downloaded from any website or the Windows app store. After installing the app on our Windows computer, I was able to manage the schedules and filters from the dashboard. It has a clean interface with a complete activity timeline, alerts, and requests section. FamiSafe has three subscription options, each of which can protect up to 10 devices, and only differ in terms of length of the contract. Before committing to a plan, you can try FamiSafe free for 3 days and see how the parental control features work for your family. Try FamiSafe free for 3 Days!

How I Tested and Rated the Best Parental Control Programs for Windows

Over the course of several months, I purchased and tested over 50 parental control programs on my Windows 10 laptop and desktop. (but I made sure all the software I recommended here works well with Windows 8 and 7 as well, so you don’t have to worry about what version you are using). The rankings were mainly based on the following criteria:

Are there free parental control programs for Windows?

I tested several free parental control programs for Windows but wouldn’t recommend using them. Most of them were just partial releases of premium versions, and if you want to access the premium features you’ll have to buy the program. The few that were truly free just weren’t very good. If you’re on a budget I recommend Qustodio, which is one of the least expensive, but still reliable, parental control programs.

Can I monitor my Windows PC without the kids knowing?

There are a few programs “spy apps” that I was able to install without my kids knowing. Obviously, it couldn’t have any screen limits or a web filter, because then the kids would know the program was running. These would just monitor what was happening on the computer, logging every keystroke, and recording everything. In my experience, this type of software should only be used in extreme situations, where you are scared for your child. It’s better to open a dialogue, explain the dangers of the internet and why you need to monitor their computer. Because, if they ever discover that you secretly installed a program on their PC that records their most private thoughts, it could cause irreparable damage to your relationship. I found that even though my kids knew I installed Qustodio, after a few days, they completely forgot about it since it runs in the background and doesn’t interfere with how they use the computer.

Can I monitor the computer from my Android or iPhone?

All of the parental programs on my list are compatible with Android and iOS. You’ll be able to login to your account and manage the computer from the dashboard.

Windows comes with built-in parental control, do I really need another program?

While it’s true that Windows 10 comes with parental control options, they are very limited. The web filter and time management features are very basic and don’t offer true protection. You’ll be much happier using Qustodio, which has excellent filters and screen time management tools.

Bottom Line

A good parental control program for Windows should be a requirement for all parents. It will give our kids the freedom to go online while protecting them from potential harm. After extensive research and testing, Qustodio was the best program I tested for Windows, and it’s what I’ve continued to use on my home computer. You can take advantage of Qustodio’s free trial and use all of its premium features for 30 days at no-risk, which is great if you want to test the program out before you commit to it. Try Qustodio Free for 30 Days!

Here Are The Best Parental Control Apps for 2023: