If you already have a subscription with Proton VPN (or are interested in purchasing it), I tested it to find out if it still works in China (the results might surprise you!). Keep in mind that the protection of a VPN doesn’t give you a license to commit illegal acts, so please exercise a basic level of caution when using a VPN in China. If you’re in a hurry and just need a VPN that is guaranteed to work in China, I highly recommend ExpressVPN for reliability and lightning-fast speeds. It’s risk-free to try ExpressVPN for yourself as it’s backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee. If you’re not satisfied with the performance, you can always request a full refund. Get ExpressVPN for China

Does Proton VPN Still Work in China?

In my recent tests, I found that Proton VPN does not work in China anymore. In addition, Proton VPN made an announcement towards the end of 2019 that the Chinese government has blocked it.

Things to Consider When Selecting a VPN to Use in China

Since you won’t be able to use Proton VPN in China, you’ll need to look for other options. To guide you on your search for the best VPN for your needs, I’ve included a list of the most important things to consider when deciding on a VPN: There are many factors to consider when selecting a VPN to use in China, and the number of VPNs to choose from can be overwhelming. If you want to skip the hassle of researching, get a reliable and tested VPN like ExpressVPN. It has worked the most consistently for me in China and has the fastest speeds. While you should exercise caution if you decide to use a VPN within China’s borders, you likely won’t be prosecuted for doing so. The common practice is that China fights VPNs by technologically blocking the services, and not by chasing after the people who use them. Try ExpressVPN for free for 30 days

3 Best VPNs That Work in China

1. ExpressVPN — Best VPN for Fast Speeds and Safe Browsing in China

Key Features: When I had to travel to China for work, I had my doubts about whether or not ExpressVPN would work there. There were mixed reviews online, so I knew I had to put it to the test — and long story short — it worked wonderfully! Not only could I access all the websites I wanted, but it ensured my activities were kept hidden from prying eyes. ExpressVPN’s US and Japan servers worked well with popular websites like Google and Facebook. The speeds were even fast enough such that Netflix and YouTube streamed in HD with minimal lag. ExpressVPN also features top-notch security features (like an automatic kill switch) to keep you safe if your connection drops. This ensures that your data is kept secure and hidden at all times. And if you need to connect multiple devices, ExpressVPN allows you to connect up to 5 devices simultaneously. It’s risk-free to try out ExpressVPN in China as you’re protected by a 30-day money-back guarantee. If you find it doesn’t meet your needs, you can easily request a refund over 24/7 live chat. When I tested the money-back guarantee myself, my request was approved immediately and the money returned to my account in 5 days. Try ExpressVPN risk-free today!

Key Features: PrivateVPN’s servers easily accessed websites like YouTube, Google and Facebook. Unfortunately, I did experience some lag when streaming videos and the speeds were inconsistent. However, it’s a great VPN for those who are worried about the security of their online data. With features like 256-bit encryption, zero-logs policy and an automatic kill switch, I had peace of mind knowing that my data won’t be accessed by third parties. Because PrivateVPN allows up to 6 simultaneous connections, I could also easily switch between my phone or laptop throughout the day. And for added security, PrivateVPN even assigns unique IP addresses to each device. If maintaining online security in China is your top priority, you can try PrivateVPN for free with its 30-day money-back guarantee. This is ideal if you are traveling to China for a short period and want to ensure your online data is kept secure. Try PrivateVPN for free today!

3. AstrillVPN — Fast Speeds for Streaming and Browsing in China

Key Features: Astrill VPN has servers close to China (like Taiwan and Japan), so I was able to get pretty decent speeds. I experienced minimal buffering and lag while connected to the VPN. Its servers even worked with Netflix. Although Astrill VPN has military-grade encryption to ensure your online security, I was a little skeptical when I found out that it keeps temporary logs of your activity. Especially in a country like China where VPN use is frowned upon, I would want to go with a VPN that promises complete anonymity. Another major downside for this VPN is the higher price compared to other providers. It has a strict no-refund policy so you can’t even test it out before buying (unlike ExpressVPN). I found this rather unfriendly to users because if it doesn’t work, I wouldn’t be able to get my money back. Try Astrill VPN today

Choose a VPN That Has Been Tested in China

The case of Proton VPN shows that even a reputable VPN can suddenly be blocked by ever-changing Chinese government restrictions. That’s why it’s important to check that a VPN you’re interested in has been tested in China recently. Additionally, remember to download your VPN before you enter China. Once you’ve entered the country and you find out your VPN isn’t working, there’s not much you can do. ExpressVPN has been proven to work in China, and it offers a 30-day money-back guarantee so that you can try it risk free. Try ExpressVPN in China!

Summary: These Are The Top VPNs That Work in China (Updated 2023)