I tested over 30 VPNs to find the best for Google Play Japan and ExpressVPN has the fastest servers in Japan with strong security features to keep your billing information private. There’s even a 30-day money-back guarantee so you can get a refund if you’re not satisfied. When I tested the refund policy myself, it took minutes to approve and less than 5 days for the money to return to my bank account. Access Google Play Japan with ExpressVPN

Easy Guide: How to Access Google Play Japan From Anywhere

Access Google Play Japan with ExpressVPN

Step-By-Step Guide: How to Download Apps on the Japanese Google Play Store

Access Google Play Japan with ExpressVPN

The Best VPNs for Google Play Japan (Tested in January 2023)

1. ExpressVPN — Powerful Security and Fast Speeds for Google Play Japan Downloads

Key Features: ExpressVPN has excellent speeds and high-level security features, making it ideal for accessing Google Play Japan. From my base speed of 115Mbps, my speed dropped by less than 18% to 95Mbps. This is particularly impressive when Japan’s servers are over 9,500km from my location. In tests, ExpressVPN had the fastest speeds of any VPN. This is due in part to its proprietary Lightway protocol, which is designed to minimize speed loss. Every server connection is further secured by military-grade encryption, keeping your personal data and billing information safe. There’s a kill switch on all Android apps to prevent anything from being exposed in case the connection drops out unexpectedly. Furthermore, all IP or DNS leaks are stopped due to the app’s built-in leak protection. In terms of setup, I found ExpressVPN’s Android app is easy to download and navigate, with 1-click connections to the fastest server in Japan. It’s also tiny in size at just 41Mb, leaving you plenty of storage space for other apps and content. I particularly like that the ExpressVPN app has a Shortcuts feature, where I could add Google Play to quick and easy access. The best-value plan is the 1-year + 3 months subscription and it costs $6.67 a month. In my view, it’s well worth the price for the huge range of top-tier features. At the moment, you can even save 49% when you sign up for a long-term plan. You can get a full refund if you’re not completely satisfied as ExpressVPN is backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee. I tested the process myself and was surprised by how quick and easy it was. I contacted a support agent using the 24/7 live chat and asked to cancel my account and get a refund. The agent arranged this immediately (without even asking me to reconsider or troubleshoot any issues!). The chat only took a couple of minutes and I had my money back in just 5 days. Access Google Play Japan with ExpressVPN

2. CyberGhost — Over 50 Japanese Servers for Reliable Access to Google Play Japan

Key Features: CyberGhost has over 50 servers in Japan, making it a top choice for Google Play Japan. I connected to the servers in Japan without issue during tests — it never took longer than 5 seconds to establish a connection. The CyberGhost Android app is only 30MB in size, so you can prioritize your storage space for apps and personal content. It even has WiFi protection, which automatically connects you to a server whenever you’re joining an unsecured network (like at cafes or libraries). Every server is equipped with AES256-bit encryption and leak protection, which keeps all your Google Play account information secure. I didn’t experience any leaks during my tests, proving CyberGhost effectively kept my data within the encrypted connection. Its Android app also has a kill switch to ensure data security if the connection becomes unstable. However, CyberGhost slowed my connection more than ExpressVPN from 115Mbps to 81Mbps — a drop of almost 30%. If your standard internet speeds are slower than mine, you could notice a more significant reduction and app downloads could take much longer. To keep speeds fast, I recommend using the WireGuard protocol. This lightweight protocol is ideal for speed and security, making it a top choice for fast and anonymous app downloads from Google Play Japan. You can get cheaper prices when you sign up for longer-term plans. For instance, the 2-year + 2 months plan is only $2.19 per month. This makes CyberGhost a very affordable VPN. You can even use the generous money-back guarantee to try CyberGhost with Google Play Japan for up to 45 days. Once I finished testing the Android app with Google Play, I contacted customer support to cancel. It took less than 5 minutes over the 24/7 live chat and I had my refund in less than a week. Access Google Play Japan with CyberGhost

3. Private Internet Access — Affordable VPN With 2 Servers in Japan

Key Features: Private Internet Access (PIA) is an ideal budget VPN for accessing Google Play Japan. Its prices start at just $2.19 for a 2-year + 2 months subscription. Even its monthly plan is a lower price than the other VPNs on this list, making PIA one of the most secure and affordable monthly VPNs. PIA only has 2 servers in Japan and 1 is an optimized server for streaming. However, I found PIA’s optimized Japanese streaming server is faster than the standard Japan server. My speeds dropped 35% with the optimized server compared to 69% with the standard server. I recommend using the optimized server for faster app downloads when visiting Google Play, streaming, or just browsing online. Unfortunately, PIA drained my battery life considerably while I was connected to a Japanese server. I noticed a drop of more than 10% while downloading an app, which was more than ExpressVPN and CyberGhost. If you have an older device, this could cause a more significant drain on your battery life. I think it’s still worth it to try PIA with Google Play Japan to see if it’s right for you — especially since i’s risk-free with the 30-day money-back guarantee. When I tested the refund process, the 24/7 live chat agent asked me if I’d like to troubleshoot any issues before canceling my account. After confirming my cancelation, the agent promptly processed my request and I had my money back in just under a week. Access Google Play Japan with PIA

Comparison Table: Best VPNs for Japan in 2023

Access Google Play Japan with ExpressVPN

How I Tested and Ranked the Best VPN for Google Play Japan

I tested all the leading VPNs on the market in 2023 and ranked them against the following criteria to find the top services for Google Play Japan: After thorough testing, ExpressVPN emerged as the best VPN for Google Play Japan. Its Lightway protocol ensures your connection is fast no matter where you’re located, plus the security and privacy features keep all of your data anonymous. Access Google Play Japan with ExpressVPN

How do I create a Japanese Google Play account?

If you’re outside of Japan, you’ll need to use a VPN to create a Japanese Google Play account. Fortunately, the account setup process is very easy and only takes a few minutes before you’re ready to visit the Google Play store. You’ll need to set your account region to Japan, and this is only possible if Google detects that your IP address is in Japan. By using a VPN, you mask your true IP address with one from a Japanese VPN server. Google Play detects this IP address and allows you to use a Japanese account to access the apps and content available in the store.

How can I download apps from the Japanese Google Play store?

To download apps from Google Play Japan, you’ll need a Japanese Google Play account. If you’re outside of Japan, you’ll also need a high-quality VPN with servers in Japan to connect to the Google Play store. Once you connect to a VPN server and create a Japanese account, you should be able to visit Google Play Japan and download apps. Make sure you clear your Google Play data and cache before launching the app, as this could contain location data that blocks you from accessing Google Play Japan.

Why does Google Play have country restrictions?

Google Play restricts some of its apps and content to particular countries due to copyright regulations. This means apps like Otaquest and eAMUSEMENT are only available in Japan, and Google only allows access if your device IP address is Japanese. If you’re outside of Japan, you can only access Google Play Japan with a VPN to mask your physical IP address. Trying to access a Google Play Japan app without a VPN will only result in seeing an error message that reads “This app is not available in your country.” However, keep in mind it’s against Google Play’s Terms of Service to use a VPN to navigate around geographical restrictions. When you create a Google Play account, you agree not to “circumvent, disable or defeat any of the security features or components that protect, obfuscate, or otherwise restrict access to any Content or Google Play.” My team and I don’t condone any illegal behavior or recommend going against Google Play’s Terms of Service. However, you should be able to access the content you’ve rightfully paid for. The only way to ensure you can always access your purchased apps is to use a secure VPN like ExpressVPN to connect to a server in Japan before visiting Google Play.

Can I change my Google Play region without a credit card?

Unfortunately, no. You need a valid payment method from the region you want to change your Google Play account to (such as a Japanese credit card). However, you can use a VPN to create a new Japanese Google Play account instead, as you don’t need to add a payment method when setting up a new account. Although you’ll only be able to install and use free apps this way, it’s a great option if you don’t have access to a valid payment method. If you’d like to purchase paid Google Play apps on the Japanese storefront, you’ll need to add a regional payment method to your account or purchase a gift card with local currency (if available). Access Google Play Japan with ExpressVPN

Access Google Play Japan Worldwide With a High-Quality VPN

When you’re traveling outside of Japan, you don’t want to face blocks from your favorite apps and content on the Google Play store. Fortunately, a VPN can give you a Japanese IP address for Google Play Japan access. I was especially impressed with ExpressVPN’s high-speed servers in Japan and easy-to-use Android app. It’s also a safe VPN as it has a strict no-logs policy and uses military-grade encryption to keep your data and billing information secure. You can even test ExpressVPN with Google Play Japan risk-free as the service is backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee. If you’re not satisfied, the customer support team will give you a full refund in the first 30 days. I tested the process myself and it only took a couple of minutes for my refund to be approved over 24/7 live chat. I had my money back in just 5 days.

Summary — Best VPNs for Google Play Japan in 2023