It only took 5 simple steps to complete the refund request and the money was returned to my account in just 6 days. The customer support team didn’t even try to push me to stay after I explained I didn’t want to use PrivateVPN anymore. If you’re ready for a new VPN, I strongly recommend ExpressVPN. It outperforms PrivateVPN in every area with better speeds, unblocking technology, and security. It also comes with a 30-day money-back guarantee, so you can replace PrivateVPN with ExpressVPN risk-free. Try ExpressVPN risk-free

Quick Guide: How to Cancel PrivateVPN and Get a Full Refund

Step-By-Step Guide: How to Cancel PrivateVPN and Get Your Money Back

You can only request refunds through the PrivateVPN website by filling out a support ticket (live chat isn’t an option). However, the whole refund process is automated so you don’t even need to speak to a customer support representative. You need to go through this process even if you signed up for PrivateVPN on the Google Play and Apple App Stores.

The Best Alternatives to PrivateVPN (Tested in January 2023)

1. ExpressVPN — #1 VPN for Speed, Security, and Privacy

Key Features: ExpressVPN has super-fast servers with a barely noticeable effect on your internet connection. To test it, I connected to over 45 servers in the UK, US, Canada, Australia, and Japan. Regardless of which country I selected, I noticed an average of 7% drop from my regular speeds. This is very rare, as VPNs tend to slow down my speeds more when I connect to servers 10,000+ kilometers away from me. With such reliable and fast connections, I could easily stream, torrent, and play games online without noticeable slowdown. Your internet traffic is protected by top-tier security and privacy protocols. With features like leak protection, a kill switch, 256-bit encryption, and a no-logs policy, you can trust ExpressVPN to protect your information at home and on public WiFi networks. Plus, the VPN’s headquartered in the privacy-friendly British Virgin Islands means that none of your identifying information is collected or stored. Every plan is backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee, so you can try ExpressVPN completely risk-free. I was skeptical about ExpressVPN’s “no questions asked” refund policy as I’ve tested many VPNs that promised hassle-free refunds but never delivered. So I was pleasantly surprised when ExpressVPN’s live chat representative approved my refund immediately. I had the money back in my bank within 4 days. Try ExpressVPN risk-free

2. CyberGhost — Optimized Network of Servers for Streaming, Torrenting, and Gaming

Key Features: CyberGhost has specialty servers arranged by categories on its app, including optimized servers for streaming, torrenting, and gaming. This is very user-friendly — I could set up my connection in just 7 seconds during testing. For an even faster setup, I added servers I liked the most to my favorites. All servers are equipped with military-grade encryption, a kill switch, ad blocker, and more. This makes your connections unbreakable, giving you full protection from online dangers. In terms of privacy, CyberGhost’s location in Romania doesn’t require the VPN to collect any user data. Each server is also RAM-based, so all data is wiped with every reboot. The only downside is that CyberGhost’s servers aren’t as fast as ExpressVPN in tests. You might experience some buffering or longer loading times if your internet speeds are slow or you’re on a public WiFi network. CyberGhost has a generous money-back guarantee at 45 days. This means you can download CyberGhost on your devices and test it for yourself risk-free. I signed up for the annual plan and requested a refund after only 8 days through 24/7 live chat. The CyberGhost agent didn’t even ask me why I wanted to cancel and I had my money back 5 days later. Try CyberGhost risk-free

3. Private Internet Access — Low-Cost Premium VPN

Key Features: Private Internet Access (PIA) is the most affordable alternative to PrivateVPN on the list. Its standard pricing is already low, but PIA’s latest discount of 82% makes its 2-year + 2 months-plan one of the cheapest on the market. It’s worth noting that PIA is located in the US, which places the company under the jurisdiction of the 5-Eyes Alliance (an international intelligence-sharing network). However, PIA has a strict no-logs policy, so none of your identifying data is tracked, stored, or shared with third parties. Even if there is a government request, PIA doesn’t have any files to hand over. You can test PIA yourself without risk using its 30-day money-back guarantee. While you do have to make an upfront payment to sign up, getting your refund is very easy if you’re not satisfied. I tested it myself after 27 days of testing using the 24/7 live chat. I had to explain why I wanted to cancel (I said I couldn’t afford it anymore), but the chat lasted less than 3 minutes before the agent approved my refund. I received the money after 7 business days. Try PIA risk-free

How do I cancel and get my money back from PrivateVPN?

You can easily cancel your PrivateVPN account and get a refund in just 5 steps. As long as you’re within the 30-day money-back guarantee, you’ll have no problems getting reimbursed. Simply fill out a request form on the website. The customer support team will send you a follow-up email to ask why you’re canceling. I said I wasn’t interested in using the VPN anymore and it was enough to get my refund approved within 2 hours.

Can I cancel PrivateVPN anytime?

Yes, you can cancel your PrivateVPN account at any point. You’ll get to use the VPN until your billing period is finished, but you won’t be charged again after you cancel. However, you can only get a refund with the 30-day money-back guarantee if you’re a new subscriber. If you change your subscription plan, you’ll also be prevented from getting a refund — even if you’re still within the 30-day period.

How long does PrivateVPN take to issue a refund?

I tested PrivateVPN’s refund policy myself and it takes up to 24 hours to receive confirmation. I had the money back in my account 6 days later, but your bank may need up to 10 business days to process the payment. If you paid with PayPal, then you’ll receive your refund instantly.

Is PrivateVPN any good?

PrivateVPN only has 200+ servers in 63+ countries, but it’s a powerful VPN. However, you can check out better VPNs with thousands of servers worldwide if you’re looking for a wider choice of locations. For example, ExpressVPN has a blazing-fast network of 3000+ servers in 94+ countries.

What’s the best alternative to PrivateVPN?

After testing the top VPNs on the market, I found ExpressVPN is the best alternative to PrivateVPN. It provides outstanding features in every area, making it better than competitors when it comes to speeds, security, servers, ease of use, and more. Try ExpressVPN risk-free

Cancel Your PrivateVPN Account and Find a Better VPN for You

If you decide that PrivateVPN isn’t for you, you can cancel your account and get a full refund without an issue. All you need to do is just email the VPN’s support team and explain why you want to cancel. I ran multiple tests on top VPNs to find the best replacement — and ExpressVPN ranked as the top alternative for PrivateVPN. Unlike PrivateVPN, ExpressVPN also has a “no questions asked” refunds, so you won’t deal with pushy sales tactics if you want to get a refund with the 30-day money-back guarantee

Summary — Best Alternative VPNs to PrivateVPN in 2023