Though hundreds of VPNs claim to work with the mobile game, I tested 60+ vendors to see only 3 improved my Pokémon Go experience. My research showed that ExpressVPN is the most reliable vendor with ultra-fast speeds and unbreakable connections that can help change your Pokémon Go location. The VPN is also backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee — so you can test ExpressVPN with Pokémon Go for yourself and get a refund if it doesn’t work for you. Play Pokemon GO with ExpressVPN

Quick Guide: 3 Steps to Change Your Location in Pokémon Go with a VPN

Play Pokemon GO with ExpressVPN

Why You Need a VPN to Change Your Location in Pokémon Go

Even though Pokémon Go is available across the world, you’ll lose access to local Pokémon, Poké Stops, and Gyms if you travel outside of your usual area. The game checks your location by scanning your device’s IP address and GPS — so you need to hide both to reconnect to your regular Pokémon spots. Connecting to a VPN gives you a new virtual location by changing your IP address to the one assigned to a server of your choice. This replaces information about your device’s location with data saved on that specific server. While it doesn’t actually change your Pokémon Go GPS location, it can help you unblock the game in your workplace, school, or other places where the game is restricted. That’s because your VPN connection will stop the Internet Service Provider from checking which apps you open and blocking your access to the game. To fully change your Pokémon Go location, you also have to download a GPS-emulator app that alters GPS signals sent from your device. After selecting a place on a map, the app will transmit your new coordinates to the global navigation satellite system. That way Pokémon Go will see only your new virtual location letting you easily play with your friends when you’re abroad. Keep in mind that your VPN and GPS-emulator app need to be set to the same location before you open Pokémon Go. Otherwise, the app will easily recognize you’re breaking the Terms and Conditions and ban you from playing. Regardless of which GPS-emulator app you choose, you need a VPN that can keep your location hidden for as long as you need it. ExpressVPN comes with the toughest encryption as well as blazing-fast speeds, letting you catch Pokémon from anywhere. As a new user, you’ll also get to try ExpressVPN without committing straight away as the vendor gives you a 30-day money-back guarantee. So if you change your mind at any point during the trial, you’ll get a full refund without any problems. Play Pokemon GO with ExpressVPN

Step-by-Step Guide: ChangeYour Location in Pokemon Go On Android and iOS

Changing your location in Pokémon Go depends on which operating system you play the game on. While changing your location on iPhones and iPads is a bit more difficult as it requires you to jailbreak your device, you can change the location of your iOS and Android in only 7 steps. Keep in mind that while it’s not illegal to change your location, you could get banned from using Pokémon Go.

Change Your Pokémon Go Location on Android Devices

Play Pokemon GO with ExpressVPN

Change Your Location in Pokémon Go on iOS Devices

Play Pokemon GO with ExpressVPN

The Best VPNs to Change Your Location in Pokemon Go in January 2023

1. ExpressVPN — Fastest Speeds to Battle Rival Pokémon Teams In Gyms Worldwide With Zero-Lag

Key Features: ExpressVPN can help you enjoy any Pokémon Go location with no lag on your devices due to its fast server speeds and low latency. It’s so annoying to get through the battle in a Gym, only to get kicked out of it before the final strike because your ping spiked — but ExpressVPN can prevent it. I was impressed to see that my latency was consistent on every server, which let me play in top Pokémon Go regions without lagging. As server speeds often fluctuate throughout the day, I was happy to see ExpressVPN instantly located the best connection for me. The vendor also let me curate a list of favorite servers and save particularly fast locations for later with one button. This meant I connected to it in a few seconds when I was ready to expand my Pokédex again. I could create a Pokémon Go shortcut within ExpressVPN’s app which let me open the game seconds after connecting. That way I didn’t have to waste time looking for Pokémon Go on my phone and I spent my lunch break on multiple Poké Stops visits. As it’s a little pricier than its competitors, you should get ExpressVPN for less through its hidden deals page and save up to 49% on an annual plan. You’ll also get to use ExpressVPN risk-free with its 30-day money-back guarantee. Since the vendor offers “no questions asked” refunds, if you decide you’re not interested in keeping it, you won’t have to justify why you’re canceling your account. My refund was initiated as soon as I requested it, and I received it 4 days after. Play Pokemon GO with ExpressVPN

2. CyberGhost — Gaming-Optimized Servers for Playing Pokémon Go Without Interruptions

Key Features: CyberGhost has multiple gaming servers explicitly programmed to improve online gameplay and change your location from anywhere. These servers are located in large cities (like London and Paris) which let me track many wild Pokémon that usually appear around my house in the UK. My DNS and IP leak tests also proved CyberGhost’s gaming servers apply unbreakable protection that makes disguising your true location more effective. Connecting to CyberGhost’s gaming servers is very simple. Once I selected the “For Gaming” tab, I could choose any of the locations on the list. After double-clicking on one, the VPN set up my connections in under 30 seconds. As there are limited gaming servers available, they may become full and you won’t be able to connect to them. No need to panic though — I changed my Pokémon Go location using CyberGhost’s regular servers too. They were 40% slower than the optimized locations, but I didn’t notice much difference in my gameplay, even during battles in Gyms. My tests proved the VPN is an excellent choice for gaming, but you can try CyberGhost’s optimized servers without committing for 45 days. The money-back guarantee gives you plenty of time to connect to multiple servers to improve your Pokémon Go gameplay. However, if you find it’s not as good as you thought, you can get a full refund before the policy ends. When I connected to the 24/7 live chat, a CyberGhost agent initialized my refund after explaining why I wanted to cancel. The money showed on my bank statement within 6 business days. Play Pokémon Go with CyberGhost

3. Private Internet Access (PIA) — Thousands of Global Servers to Catch Pokémon In Any Country

Key Features: Private Internet Access offers the largest networks of servers, giving you a wide choice of worldwide locations for Pokémon Go. During my tests, I never encountered overcrowded connections, which meant my PIA speeds were always fast. This let me change my location in Pokémon Go in half a minute, regardless of which connection I chose. I was concerned finding a working connection would take a long time since the server list is so extensive. However, I only had to select a country I wanted to connect to, and PIA located the fastest server there for me. My tests showed the automatic connections always gave me speeds above 30Mbps which was enough to catch all Pokémon comfortably. I could even share my login details with other Trainers I know because PIA supports 10 simultaneous connections. That way, we could always play together, no matter where we traveled to. As one of the cheapest VPNs on the market, the vendor is worth investing in — but I’d still advise you to test PIA with Pokémon Go using its 30-day money-back guarantee. That way, if the VPN doesn’t work with the game on your devices, you can cancel your account to get a refund. The quickest way to do it is to connect to an advisor through live chat. A PIA agent approved my request in less than 2 minutes, and the money was back in my account a week later. Play Pokémon Go with PIA

4. NordVPN — Premium VPN With Cheap Prices on Long-Term Plans

Key Features: NordVPN is one of the best VPNs on the market — and you can get super cheap prices when you sign up for a long-term subscription. One thing to note, however, is that when it’s time to renew your subscription, prices do increase quite significantly. I did, however, have issues with using NordVPN’s native Fire TV app. Although it worked and unblocked some streaming services, it sometimes had issues unblocking Netflix US and kept crashing. I also found that NordVPN’s user interface for desktop devices was less user-friendly than ExpressVPN and CyberGhost. NordVPN has the following security and privacy features:

AES 256-bit encryptionA kill switch that cuts your internet access if your connection to a VPN server drops suddenlyBuilt-in ad and malware blocker, so you don’t need a third-party ad blockerFully audited no-logs policy (audited by PwC) – NordVPN doesn’t store any personal or identifying data while you’re connected to the VPN

In addition, NordVPN includes Threat Protection that protects you from viruses, infected websites, and trackers – and it works whenever you have the NordVPN app open, even if you’re not connected to a VPN server. With plans that cost as little as $3.49 per month, it’s easy to find a NordVPN subscription plan that suits your needs. You can also stream, torrent, and browse for free for up to 30 days with its money-back guarantee. To ensure that you’ll really get your money back, I tested NordVPN’s money-back guarantee. At first, the support team tried to give me an extended trial period — but they initiated my refund right away after I told them I wasn’t interested in the extension. I got my money back in 6 business days. Get NordVPN today NordVPN works on: Windows, Mac OS, Android, iOS, Windows Phone, Chromebook, Linux, Chrome, Firefox, Fire Stick, and Android TV

5. Surfshark — Best Value for Money with Unlimited Device Connections and Fast Speeds

Key Features: Surfshark offers the best value for money out of every premium VPN on the market. You can connect an unlimited number of devices with a single subscription, which means you can use Surfshark on all your devices without getting logged out. I tested Surfshark’s simultaneous connections on 2 PCs, 2 phones, a Fire Stick 4K, and an iPad. My connection remained reliable on all 6 devices. Even while I was actively streaming on all my devices, my average speed was 112 Mbps — fast enough for UHD quality. When I saw the price of this service, I thought it couldn’t possibly have top-grade security features for such a low price, but I was pleasantly surprised. Surfshark has the following security and privacy features:

AES 256-bit encryption on all devices, with ChaCha encryption available for Android usersWireguard VPN protocol enabled by defaultDiskless, RAM-only servers to protect your privacy (no data can be physically extracted from any servers)Kill switch (although this isn’t enabled by default)IP and DNS leak protection

Surfshark offers two-factor authentication (2FA) on your account. This feature requires you to enter an extra code before you can log in to ensure that only you can access your account. While Surfshark does have slightly fewer global servers than rivals such as CyberGhost and PIA, I didn’t experience any issues during my tests. I easily connected fast working servers every time, and I had excellent speeds for streaming Netflix in UHD, downloading torrents, and browsing the internet.

You can try Surfshark for yourself with the 30-day money-back guarantee. It has plans that cost as little as $2.05. Requesting a refund is easy with Surfshark’s live chat feature. Although the support team asked why I wanted to cancel my subscription, I had no problem getting my money back (and it only took 4 days!). Get Surfshark today Surfshark works on: Windows, Mac OS, Android, iOS, Linux, Fire Stick, Samsung Smart TVs, LG Smart TVs, Android TV, Kodi, and selected routers

Why a Free VPN Won’t Help You Change Your Location in Pokémon Go

Although you can find good free VPNs, they didn’t pass my security checks — so they won’t mask your IP address in Pokémon Go. I ran multiple leak tests on free servers to learn that none of them could keep my information hidden, which got me suspended from the game for a month. This is mainly because free VPNs can’t afford to apply the military-grade protection found in their premium competitors. Free VPNs also offer a much smaller choice of servers which limits which countries you can connect to. On top of that, free services apply multiple restrictions on their users to cut their running costs, including severe data and bandwidth caps. This caused my game to lag every time I was in a battle, and I ran out of my monthly data allowance 10 minutes into Pokémon hunting. If that’s not off-putting enough, free VPNs collect and share your data with suspicious third parties, like advertisers and scammers. So not only will you face repercussions when Pokémon Go detects you have changed your location, your information will be put at risk of scams, hacking, and identity theft. You’ll have a much better chance at changing your Pokémon Go location with a top-quality VPN. After extensive security checks, I found that ExpressVPN is one of the most secure VPNs on the market as it never leaked my identity or location. Plus, if you use ExpressVPN’s money-back guarantee, you’ll get to test it risk-free for up to 30 days. Should you change your mind at any point, you can ask for a refund. I received mine only 4 days after requesting it through the 24/7 live chat. Play Pokemon GO with ExpressVPN

The game’s Terms and Conditions highlight that using third-party apps to change your Pokémon Go location is considered cheating. If the app discovers you’re using a VPN to change your location, you’ll be subjected to its 3-strike discipline policy. The first strike will prompt a constant warning within the Pokémon Go app to let you know your actions were detected. It’ll also affect your gameplay by disabling rare Pokémon around you and withholding EX Raid Passes from you. Your account will be restored after 7 days. If the app sees you have changed your location again, your account will be suspended for up to 30 days. This will completely block you from logging in, so you won’t be able to play. The final strike will result in the complete termination of your account. Though you may appeal this decision, you’ll likely lose your progress and will have to start again. I recommend you stop changing your location as soon as you get your first warning, mainly if you’ve played the game for a long time. It’s simply not worth the risk. Niantic (the game’s developer) has recently started updating the Pokémon Go app to make sure you can find a great selection of Pokémon and Gyms in any area. Plus, you can make the most of your travels by looking out for wild Pokémon you wouldn’t otherwise come across and bring them back to impress other local players. Play Pokemon GO with ExpressVPN

Why won’t the Pokémon Go location change with a VPN?

A VPN changes your IP address which lets you change your virtual location, but it’s not enough to change your Pokémon Go position. That’s because the game also uses your GPS coordinates to determine where you are — so you need to combine a VPN with a GPS-emulator app to change your location. However, there is no guaranteed method that will help you change your Pokémon Go location every time. Niantic regularly updates the mobile app to prevent players from changing their location, so you’ll likely experience issues with connecting to the servers. If you’re struggling with accessing different GPS coordinates in the game, follow the instructions again using a different location.

What devices can you change your Pokémon Go location on?

You can change your Pokémon Go location on every device the game is compatible with. This includes iOS devices like iPhones and iPads as well as Android, including Samsung, Sony, HUAWEI, Google Pixel, and more. You can also play Pokémon Go on your PC using an Android emulator, like Android Studio or Bluetacks. To change your location, you just need to follow the instructions to change your location on Android. To change your location on all devices, you need a VPN compatible with the same operating systems. ExpressVPN can be downloaded on most devices, including Android, iOS, Windows, and macOS. I could even install it directly on my router, instantly connecting all of my devices to the same network. You can even check if ExpressVPN works for you risk-free with its 30-day money-back guarantee. That way, you won’t have to commit to a long-term subscription straight away and you’ll get a full refund if you decide not to keep it! Get ExpressVPN today

Change Your Location in Pokémon Go From Anywhere Today!

You don’t have to lose access to your usual Gyms and rare Pokémon when you travel abroad or experience technical issues. A reliable VPN reroutes your traffic through a local server to improve your connection and give you a more enjoyable gameplay. Additionally, you can use a GPS-emulator app to change your Pokémon Go location when you’re abroad. Keep in mind that the latter is considered cheating by Niantic and may get you banned from the app. ExpressVPN proved to be the best choice for Pokémon Go with its large selection of high-speed servers and strong encryption that quickly hides your IP address. Even if your attempts to change your location don’t work, you can get a full refund as the vendor’s 30-day money-back guarantee lets you test ExpressVPN’s IP masking risk-free. Play Pokemon GO with ExpressVPN

Summary — Change Your Location in Pokémon Go Now With These VPNs (Updated 2023)