The only reliable solution I found was to install a parental control app on their phone. After testing some of the leading parental control apps, I found Bark to be the best option for monitoring Snapchat. Bark connects to the Snapchat account and uses advanced AI to monitor and filter all Snaps and chats. It gave me the peace of mind I needed and allowed me to recognize if my child is involved in activities I prefer them to stay away from. You don’t have to take my word for it when you can try Bark for yourself with their 7-day free trial that lets you fully monitor your child’s account Monitor Snapchat with Bark!

Quick Guide: Monitor Snapchat in 3 Easy Steps in 2023

Try Bark for free for 7 days!

How a good Parental Control App Can Monitor Snapchat

A good parental control app is a great tool to gain insights into what your child is doing on their Android or iPhone devices. It has a web filter that can recognize dangerous or inappropriate keywords and images sent through the app. It then sends an alert to the parental dashboard with updates. It also monitors how long my child spends on Snapchat every day and allows me to set screen time limits or block the app if I see that it’s becoming a problem. Out of all the premium and free parental control apps that I checked, Bark was the best for monitoring Snapchat (and most other social media networks). It connects directly with the Snapchat account and detects cyberbullying, sexual content, online predators, and more. It monitors both public and private Stories, alerting me to any potentially risky behaviors. Try Bark free for 7 days and see for yourself how valuable the insights are that you’ll get. Try Bark for free for 7 days!

The Best Parental Control Apps to Monitor Snapchat on Android and iPhone in 2023

1. Bark: Monitors Chat Threads For Dangerous or Inappropriate Texts and Pictures

Bark specializes in monitoring social media apps and networks. After installing Bark on my son’s phone, I had to log in to his Snapchat account and connect it with Bark. Once connected, Bark can constantly scan the content on his account, even if he logs in on a different phone. The web filter uses advanced AI to detect harmful or inappropriate content in 17 categories. It has an extensive list of keywords, slang, and abbreviations used by cyber bullies and conversations about drugs, sex, violence, depression, suicidal thoughts, body image issues, and more. When the Bark filter is triggered, it sends an alert to the parental dashboard, so I don’t have to take my son’s phone and scroll through his account. If I see a conversation that worries me, Bark has a feature that allows me to block the Snapchat app from opening. In addition to the content, Bark monitors how much time per day Snapchat is open on my son’s phone. If I see that he’s spending too much time snapping and publishing stories, I can create a screen time schedule that lets me add rules to each segment. For example, I can allow phone access in the afternoon so he can make calls or use the calculator when doing his homework, but still block Snapchat and other social media apps. Then, allocate an hour in the evening when he has access to all his apps. One of the fears with Snapchat is that online predators might try and contact my kids. I like that Bark has a geofence and live Check-In feature so I can monitor where they’re going and ensure that they aren’t sneaking out to meet strangers. While Bark has two subscription options, only Bark Premium includes features for monitoring Snapchat and sending alerts for cyberbullying, online predators, depression, and other potentially dangerous conversations and pictures. Try Bark Premium free for 7 days and see how powerful the Snapchat monitoring features are for your family. Try Bark Free For 7 Days!

2. Qustodio: Monitor How Much Time Your Child Spends on Snapchat

While Qustodio can’t see text messages that are sent through Snapchat, it’s an excellent tool for monitoring Snapchat usage. Each time my son opened Snapchat, it was added to the daily Activity Timeline, so I could see when he started snapping and when he finished. The dashboard also tracks how long the app is in use throughout the day. I monitored his Snapchat usage for a week, and then when I had an idea of how much time he was spending every day on the app, I used Qustodio to create screen time rules. It has a special section for Games and Apps so that I can tailor the screen time rules to all games and social media apps or create time limits that will only be applied to Snapchat. I like that Qustodio has 24/7 live tracking to go along with a geofence feature. I can view my child’s location and ensure that he isn’t sneaking out to go meet with other Snapchatters that he interacts with on the app. Just in case he does go, Qustodio has an SOS or Panic button that he can press in case he’s ever in danger. When he pushes the SOS, it sends an automatic push alert and SMS message to all his emergency contacts, with a message requesting help and a link to his live location. In addition to monitoring and limiting Snapchat, Qustodio has powerful features for monitoring other activities on Android and iPhones. The web filter has 29 categories and it sends me an alert each time my son attempts to access a site that was blocked. I can view detailed reports of what apps he is using, the YouTube video he watches, and total screen time usage every day. All three of the Qustodio Premium plans include the features for monitoring when your child is on Snapchat and the option to limit or block the app. They only differ in terms of how many devices you can monitor. But before selecting a plan, try it completely free for 30 days – no credit card is needed – and make sure that it gives you the information you need about your child’s activity on Snapchat. Try Qustodio Free for 30 Days

3. Mobicip: Scans Snapchat Account for Inappropriate Content

Mobicip automatically scans my child’s Snapchat account for inappropriate pictures, phrases, slang, and keywords. If it finds content that is related to cyberbullying, sex, violence, drugs, self-harm, or suicide, it adds an alert and a copy of the offending post on the parental dashboard. Mobicip monitors how long my son spends Snapping every day. It has a feature that groups all apps into one of three categories: Social Media, Entertainment, and Games. I can then set rules for each category, such as limiting Social Media to just an hour a day, or I can just block Snapchat if I see that he’s spending too much time using the one app. The dashboard has a modern design that should make it easy to monitor Snapchat. My only complaint is that it’s not easy to see the data for individual apps. Instead, everything is grouped by category. I had to scroll through the All Activity Timeline to see specifics for when my son is using Snapchat. If I see on the Activity Timeline that my son is using Snapchat late at night, I can add rules for specific times that will block access to social media apps. Mobicip is good at blocking apps or locking the phone. It places a lock screen on the device, and my son couldn’t find a way to bypass it and use the Snapchat app. Mobicip has a 7-day free trial that gives access to all the premium features. You can connect it with your children’s Snapchat account and see how it performs in a real-life situation. Try Mobicip Free for 7 Days!

4. mSpy: Keylogger and Screenshots Record Snapchat Activity

If it happens on Snapchat, mSpy can record it and upload it to a secure parental dashboard. It records all incoming and outgoing messages, including deleted ones. Additionally, mSpy takes a screenshot every few minutes or when a new action occurs on the screen so you can see the pictures that are being sent and received. The keylogger is another way to monitor the Snaps that your child is sending. It records every keystroke, so you can read all outgoing messages, even if they were deleted before being sent. mSpy organizes all the messages, screen recordings, and key logs for Snapchat in a dedicated Snapchat Monitoring section. All the data is time-stamped, so you’ll know exactly when the chats or pictures were sent. The biggest disadvantage of mSpy is that it doesn’t flag any content or create alerts for inappropriate or harmful content. I had to scroll through hundreds of screenshots and read a lot of innocent text messages to see if there was anything problematic. It also lacks a web filter and screen time limits that I could use with Bark or Qustodio to create rules for using Snapchat. You can choose between a 1 month, 3 month, or annual subscription. While there is no free trial, mSpy has a 14-day money-back guarantee, although you need to provide a reason for canceling the account to qualify for the refund. Monitor Snapchat with mSpy

5. Norton Family: Monitor How Often Your Child Uses Snapchat

Norton Family doesn’t have a dedicated Snapchat monitoring feature, but it monitors how long each app is in use, including Snapchat. The data is available in the dashboard, so I can see if there is an issue with the kids spending too much time snapping. If they are, I can block the Snapchat app, so they take a break and avoid getting addicted to it. There is also the option to create rules that limit the Snapchat usage. This includes Norton Family’s Remote Learning feature, which promotes using educational apps while blocking distracting apps like Snapchat and other social media and streaming apps. I like that Norton Family has a live location tracker, so I can always see where my kids are, and it stores their location for 30 days. It’s important because Snapchat connects users that are geographically close to each other, and I don’t want my son sneaking out to go meet other users he met through the app. Norton has one subscription plan and no limit to the number of child profiles I could monitor. Before purchasing the plan, I opted for the 30-day free trial to see how well Norton Family worked and if I wanted to continue using it. Try Norton Family Free for 30 Days!

Why You Need to Monitor Snapchat

For many kids, Snapchat is a fun app that has cool filters and effects that you can add to pictures. However, with its disappearing pictures and messages, kids can have a false sense of security when snapping. Some of the common issues are: Sexting: Sending nude or suggestive pictures and sexually explicit text messages is very popular on Snapchat since everything automatically deletes after being viewed. However, Snapchat no longer blocks screenshots, so these images can live on the internet forever. Cyberbullying: This isn’t unique to Snapchat but any online forum where pictures or stories can be viewed publicly. Whether it’s random online trolls or kids from school, mean comments on pictures can have a major impact on self-esteem, trigger depression, eating disorders, or ruin someone’s day. Online predators: This is the opposite of cyberbullying. An online predator can post very complimentary comments to build a relationship and connect with your child. Some predators attempt to meet up in real life, while others request pictures. Whatever the case is, it’s crucial that you know who your child interacts with to prevent a tragedy from occurring. Snap Map: Snapchat has a feature where you can click anywhere on a map and see what pictures are being shared publicly. When a picture is shared to the Snap Map includes the exact location, including the street name and which building they’re in. This can be dangerous whether your child shares Stories on the map, showing their live location, or they see something on the Map that looks cool and goes to check it out in person. For all these reasons and more, it’s essential that you have the proper tools to monitor how your children use Snapchat. My top choice is Bark because it has the necessary monitoring tools to keep your child safe. You can use Bark free for 7 days for a short-term look at how your child uses Snapchat, who they’re interacting with, and whether the conversations are inappropriate or mean-spirited.

Are there any free parental control apps that monitor Snapchat?

I’ve tested dozens of free parental control apps and haven’t found any that do a good job monitoring Snapchat. Even if I did, I’d be hesitant to use a free parental control app because there are always hidden “costs.” These can be selling the data to third-party advertisers, intrusive ads, or even worse, malicious software installed on my child’s phone. The bottom line is that these free apps need to generate revenue somehow; if the app is free, your child is the product they are selling. Instead, I recommend getting a premium parental control app with a free trial. This way, you can test the Snapchat monitoring features and see some reports on how your child uses the app before committing to a paid plan. Bark has a free 7-day trial, which unlocks all the premium features so you can start monitoring Snapchat right away.

Do I need to root or jailbreak a phone to monitor Snapchat?

Usually, only spy apps require jailbreaking an iPhone or rooting an Android to monitor Snapchat. My list of recommended parental control apps works without rooting or jailbreaking. I installed them on my child’s device, like any other app, and it had the access or permissions needed to monitor Snapchat.

Can I see the messages and pictures that are sent through Snapchat?

Not all parental control apps have the same level of access, so it depends on which one you use to monitor Snapchat. This is one of the main reasons I have Bark as my #1 choice. In addition to monitoring private and public Stories, it also has access to DMs and chats. With a powerful AI filter that scans for words, phrases, and abbreviations related to cyberbullying, self-harm, depression, suicide, violence, and more, I know I’ll get an instant alert if there is a problem. Try Bark free for 7 days and get the insight you need into your child’s Snapchat account.

Can my child disable the parental control app and use Snapchat without being monitored?

Nothing is foolproof, especially when it comes to kids and technology. What’s important is that you have an app that alerts you if your child manages to disable parental control monitoring. My recommended apps all send an alert if the protection is turned off. One of the reasons I prefer Bark is that it has a feature called Uninstall Protection, which makes it even more difficult for a child to remove the monitoring protection.

What are the benefits of a parental control app?

A parental control app is a necessary tool for parents to see how their child uses their phone or computer. From a monitoring perspective, it shows the daily screen time usage, browsing and search history, which apps are being used or downloaded to the device, and with most apps, the child’s live location. They also allow you to create rules, such as adding a web filter to block inappropriate websites, screen time limits so your children can’t spend hours staring at the screen, and blocking inappropriate or unhealthy apps. There are many reasons to monitor Snapchat, and these features work together to create as safe of an online environment as possible for your children.

Only a Premium Parental Control App Can Fully Monitor Snapchat

As a parent, having the right tools to monitor my kids interactions can make a huge difference. The problem is that hundreds of parental control apps claim to monitor Snapchat, but the reality is that most are either very basic or don’t do anything. Throughout my testing, Bark consistently stood out as the best option for monitoring Snapchat. For starters, it connects to the child’s Snapchat account and scans all DMs and Stories for any conversations, comments, or images that are harmful, dangerous, or inappropriate. It then sends me an alert, and I can block the app or set time restrictions to limit the amount of time my child can use Snapchat. You can try bark free for 7 days to test its Snapchat monitoring capabilities, and see if it’s a good fit for your family. Try Bark Free for 7 Days!