I had the misfortune of dealing with Adaware Web Companion, and the first thing I noticed was that my default search engine on Chrome changed from Google to Yandex. Adaware also added a toolbar on my default browser, slowing down my PC noticeably. Thankfully, you can remove Adaware Web Companion with a good antivirus. I recommend Norton 360 because it packs many security features and provides perfect real-time detection. Remove Adaware Web Companion with Norton 360

Quick Guide: 3 Easy Steps to Removing Adaware Web Companion

Remove Adaware Web Companion with Norton 360

How to Remove Adaware Web Companion

Step1: Uninstall Adaware Web Companion

You can uninstall Adaware Web Companion from your device in a few simple steps, but the process may vary depending on the operating system you’re using. I’ll discuss how you can remove this PUP if you’re using Windows 10, 8, 7, and macOS. If you’re using Windows 10, press the Windows key and click the gearbox or “Settings” to open Windows Settings. Click “Apps,” then select “Apps and Features,” and you’ll see a list of programs installed on your computer.

Next, find Adaware Web Companion in the list of installed programs and click “Uninstall.” On my list, the program was named “Web Companion,” but bear in mind that PUPs like these can have different names. To track it down, run the Web Companion, open your task manager (Ctrl+Shift+Escape), and check the name it’s using. This is the name you should then search on the program list.

On Windows 8, right-click on the Windows icon on the bottom-left and click on “Programs and Features.” This will take you to the programs list where you can locate Adaware and uninstall it. Alternatively, you can also click on “Control Panel” and then go to “Add or Remove Programs.”

On Windows 7, you can get to the programs list via the Control Panel. Click on the Windows start-up icon and then on “Control Panel.” Once the Control Panel opens, click on “Uninstall a program,” and the programs list will open up.

Lastly, if you’re a regular Mac user like me, open “Finder,” click on “Applications,” and browse through the apps installed on your Mac.

Locate Adaware Web Companion in this list of applications. If you can’t find it, search for applications you know you haven’t installed on your Mac. Alternatively, you can run Adaware and open the Activity Monitor, the Mac equivalent of the Windows task manager, and see the name Adaware is hiding behind.

Step 2: Run a full scan

Once you have uninstalled Adaware Web Companion from your computer manually, you might think it has been removed entirely — but that’s not always the case. PUPs like Adaware are most likely bundled with other malware on your computer, so getting rid of it doesn’t mean your computer is always completely free of viruses. You need an antivirus to eliminate all malware that came with Adaware Web Companion. I highly recommend Norton 360 because it repeatedly detected 100% of malware (even zero-day malware) when I tested it multiple times. Just make sure to run a full scan so that the antivirus can purge malware from every nook and cranny of your hard drive. Don’t forget to remove any portable devices before running the scan, including USBs and external hard drives. That’s because viruses can move to an external drive to avoid getting detected, but they move back to your computer as soon as the scan is over. Lastly, keep in mind that a full scan can take up to an hour or even longer. Plus, it can be resource-intensive, meaning that it will impact your system performance and slow down your computer, especially if you don’t have a high-end PC. Norton’s full scan did not actually slow down my computer but if you are using another antivirus, it’s better to run the full scan when you’re not using your PC for several hours, such as overnight.

Step 3: Remove all detected malware and PUPs

Once the full scan has finished, the antivirus will show you a list of unwanted programs and malware it has detected. Many antiviruses will flag legitimate files in their scan results, so you’ll have to manually go through the list and mark those files safe. After deleting the malicious files, your antivirus may prompt you to restart your computer. If it doesn’t, you should still do so that any remnants of malware or processes are wiped out clean from your computer. Additionally, I always suggest running a full scan for the second time just to be 100% sure you’ve gotten rid of all the malware.

The Best Antivirus Software to Remove Adaware Web Companion — Full Test Results in January 2023

1. Norton 360 — 100% Malware Detection and Perfect Real-Time Protection

Key Features: I pitted Norton 360 against some of the most dangerous malware I found online and was impressed by the results. Norton detected all malware and PUPs I had planted on my PC across multiple tests, including Adaware Web Companion. I was highly impressed by its performance, especially when the average detection score in the antivirus industry is only 97%. Apart from that, I initially thought that a 100% detection score would come at a price, mainly in system performance. However, my PC didn’t slow down at all, even when I tried installing resource-heavy apps like Adobe suite during the full scan. In addition, the full scan only took 10 minutes to complete, which is extremely fast given it had to sift through 0.5TB of data. The Quick Scan was even faster, taking no more than 2 minutes to finish! Norton’s perfect detection scores can be attributed to its AI-powered SONAR Analysis tool, which detects unknown threats by checking if they behave like known threats. Other than its exceptional malware-detecting abilities, Norton offers extra features that add an extra layer of security to your computer, such as a password manager and an intelligent firewall. Norton features a well-integrated password manager that securely stores all your passwords and auto-fills them when you need them. It’s highly effective against keyloggers that might come bundled with PUPs like Adaware Web Companion. A keylogger is a malware that secretly records your keystrokes and can be used to steal your passwords and other confidential data. I was highly impressed by Norton’s smart firewall, which has 5 layers of protection to catch malware and constantly monitors your incoming and outgoing internet traffic. I tested it and tried downloading a malicious file containing Adaware Web Companion, and it immediately blocked me from downloading it. Therefore, you can surf the internet with peace of mind, knowing that Norton’s firewall will keep all PUPs and malware at bay at all times. I used Norton’s performance optimization tools to remove junk files, unwanted programs, and duplicate files that were slowing my PC down. It’s a valuable feature that will keep PUPs like Adaware Web Companion at bay. I also used its Optimize Disk feature to free up space on my hard drive. It took about 2 minutes, and my PC became noticeably faster. I highly recommend using Norton to keep threats like Adaware Web Companion at bay. You can try it out risk-free with its generous 60-day money-back guarantee. Remove Adaware Web Companion with Norton 360

2. McAfee Total Protection — Exceptional Malware Detection With a Powerful Firewall

Key Features: I was happy to learn that McAfee provides malware detection at par with Norton, only lagging in system performance. My test results showed that McAfee blocked and removed all the different malware I had planted on my system with its full scan. It also kept malicious files, PUPs, and dangerous websites at bay while I surfed the internet. McAfee gave me a malware detection score of 100% and a real-time protection score of 99.2%, which is impressive since the industry average is only 97%. It did, however, flag a couple of legitimate files in its full scan, and I had to mark them as safe. I would rather have a few safe files flagged than miss out on a few malicious ones. I also noticed that McAfee was much more resource-intensive than Norton. I felt my PC slow down a bit, but it became more evident when I tried installing heavy apps while a full scan was running. Keep in mind that I have a high-end PC with a powerful processor, and you might feel a more noticeable slowdown depending on your hardware. I was impressed by McAfee’s feature-rich firewall. It hosts a Traffic Controller, which lets you control your incoming and outgoing traffic, and an Internet Connections feature, which ensures you’re connected to a trusted network. You can access the advanced firewall features under “Smart Advice and Advanced Settings.” Apart from its powerful firewall, McAfee offers a password manager, file shredder, browser extension, and parental controls. I consider these must-have features that keep you safe from unwanted programs and different types of malware. McAfee offers a 30-day free trial and a 30-day money-back guarantee. You can even extend the refund period to 60 days if you enable the auto-renew feature for your subscription — that’s a 90-day risk-free period in total! I haven’t seen any other antivirus this generous. Remove Adaware Web Companion with McAfee

3. TotalAV Total Security — Excellent Optimization Tools and Good Detection

Key Features: I tested TotalAV Total Security extensively and was impressed by its malware-detection capabilities. It gave me a detection score of 99.4%, which is excellent compared to the industry average. Apart from not being able to detect a handful of zero-day malware, TotalAV provided me decent real-time protection and successfully detected Adaware Web Companion on my PC. TotalAV offers multiple scan options, namely Smart Scan, Full Scan, and Custom Scan. I used the Smart Scan, and it detected tracking cookies, junk files, autorun programs, and duplicate files on my PC, all of which were slowing it down. As soon as I removed them, I noticed a boost in my system performance. On the downside, TotalAV is quite resource-intensive, especially when you’re running a full scan. I found that it was using 70% of my CPU resources without running a scan. In comparison, Norton only used 15%. During the full scan, my CPU utilization spiked to 100%, and my PC slowed down a bit. The slowdown was much more noticeable when I installed resource-heavy apps, including MS Office and AutoCAD. What stood out the most about TotalAV was its optimization toolkit. It hosts a suite of optimization tools, of which the ones I liked most were the App Uninstaller and Startup Manager. You can use the App Uninstaller to uninstall any programs you don’t want on your computer, such as the Adaware Web Companion. I also used the Startup Manager to find out which apps launched on system boot-up, slowing down my PC’s boot time. TotalAV also provides a whitelist VPN from Windscribe, one of the top VPN providers. I was thoroughly impressed by its server network, speeds, and unblocking capabilities. If having an exceptional VPN isn’t optional for you, these antiviruses offer the best VPNs on the market. It also offers a basic password manager and a data breach test that keeps your email account protected at all times. You can try TotalAV risk-free with its 30-day money-back guarantee for annual subscriptions and a 14-day guarantee for monthly subscriptions. Remove Adaware Web Companion with TotalAV

Quick Comparison Table: 2023’s Best AVs for Removing Adaware Web Companion

Remove Adaware Web Companion with Norton 360

How I Tested and Ranked the Best AVs for Removing Adaware Web Companion

I considered the following aspects when picking out the best antiviruses for removing Adaware Web Companion:

Malware Detection efficacy. I picked only those antiviruses that provided above-industry detection levels, i.e., 97% malware detection or higher. System performance. I checked CPU, disk, and memory utilization levels for each antivirus before and during scans and picked only those that had minimal impact on my system performance. Other features. I filtered out standalone antiviruses, only choosing entire security suites that provided extra security features, such as a VPN, password manager, firewall, browser extension, parental controls, etc. Optimization tools. I paid attention to which antiviruses had the best set of optimization tools that not only improves system performance but also keeps PUPs like Adaware Web Companion at bay.

Remove Adaware Web Companion with Norton 360

Is Adaware Web Companion a virus?

No, Adaware Web Companion is not a virus but spyware that lets hackers gain remote access to your PC. It’s a potentially unwanted program (PUP) that often is bundled with other malware and can be used to steal your data and share it with third parties without you knowing. Uninstalling Adaware Web Companion from your PC or Mac is easy, but you also need a decent antivirus that can remove all the malicious processes related to Adaware after removing the PUP from your system.

How did I get Adaware Web Companion?

Adaware Web Companion can get installed on your computer without your knowledge when you download a malicious file from the web. Although it claims to boost your system performance, it doesn’t. Instead, it’s spyware that hackers can use to access your computer remotely and steal your confidential data. If you see Adaware Web Companion on your PC, you probably have other infected files on your computer as well. Therefore, you need an excellent antivirus like Norton 360 to not only remove Adaware but also eliminate other malware that came bundled with this PUP. Remove Adaware Web Companion with Norton 360

Secure Yourself Against Adaware Web Companion

If you see Adaware Web Companion on your computer, it’s likely you have other malware on your computer, including trojans, rootkits, spyware, and more. Don’t use this program at all, though you’ll be tempted to click its pop-up ads that say something like “boost your PC’s performance now” or other similar call-to-actions. You need to immediately remove this potentially unwanted program by following this step-by-step guide. However, that’s only one part of the solution — the other part requires you to have a reliable and powerful antivirus that offers excellent detection. I strongly recommend Norton 360 because it detects even the stealthiest of malware that hides in the most unassuming areas of your computer and provides the best overall performance.

Summary — Best Antivirus Software to Remove Adaware Web Companion in 2023