However, choosing the right VPN for streaming without interruptions can be tricky and time-consuming. I tested 43 of the best VPNs to see which ones worked with BBC iPlayer in January 2023. Of the 3 that work best, I recommend ExpressVPN — during my tests, it unblocked BBC iPlayer every time and automatically found me the fastest servers for uninterrupted streaming in UltraHD. You can try ExpressVPN yourself without risking a penny as it offers a reliable 30 money-back guarantee. If you decide you don’t like it, you can claim a refund with “no questions asked.” Watch BBC iPlayer with ExpressVPN today!

Quick Guide: 3 Steps to Watch BBC iPlayer From Anywhere

Watch BBC iPlayer with ExpressVPN

Why You Need a VPN to Watch BBC iPlayer in 2023

BBC iPlayer is blocked outside of the UK due to copyright laws, so if you go on holiday abroad (or travel for work), you won’t be able to watch your favorite shows from back home. Other times, IP addresses within the UK (like at corporate offices) are blocked by BBC iPlayer. It isn’t fair that you can’t watch shows from your own country just because you’re traveling or using restricted networks. A VPN can help you get past these blocks and watch BBC iPlayer from anywhere. By connecting to a UK server with your VPN, you mask your true location with a UK-based IP address. This makes it look like you are connecting to BBC iPlayer from your regular address in the UK. However, BBC iPlayer uses sophisticated technology to detect and block VPN connections. During my research I found ExpressVPN worked best — it sneaked around BBC iPlayer’s geo-blocks during all of my tests, and had me streaming in UltraHD without lags. You don’t have to take my word for it — you can try using ExpressVPN to watch BBC iPlayer yourself risk-free with its 30-day money-back guarantee. If it isn’t a good fit, you can get your money back easily. Watch BBC iPlayer with ExpressVPN

3 Best VPNs to Watch BBC iPlayer in January 2023

1. ExpressVPN — Lightning-fast Servers to Stream BBC iPlayer With Zero Lags or Buffering

Key Features: I picked ExpressVPN because its speedy servers let me watch BBC iPlayer content in UltraHD and without buffering. I tested ExpressVPN’s UK servers from my location in London, and the results averaged 100Mbps — a 9% drop from my home network speed of 110Mbps. To see if distance affected speeds, I also tested ExpressVPN’s servers in Paris, New York, Frankfurt, and Melbourne, and these were still reliably fast with an average of 94Mpbs. Since you only need 25Mbps to stream in UltraHD, these speeds were more than high enough to watch BBC iPlayer content without wasting a second on buffering.

BBC iPlayer uses advanced processes to detect and block VPN connections, so I was concerned that ExpressVPN wouldn’t unblock the site for me. Fortunately, ExpressVPN uses an obfuscation protocol to hide all traces of a VPN connection from streaming sites. My tests confirmed that I had nothing to worry about — each UK server location I tested gave me reliable access to BBC iPlayer content. With its obfuscation technology, ExpressVPN is one of the few VPNs that work well in countries that restrict their citizens’ internet access. ExpressVPN can even bypass China’s censorship, making it a great option if you’re trying to stream BBC iPlayer content while you’re traveling there. Just keep in mind that the Chinese government punishes unauthorized VPN use with fines. While your privacy is well protected with ExpressVPN’s proven no-logs policy, remember that you should never use a VPN to break any laws. I don’t recommend or condone illegal activity, so be sure to check local rules before using VPNs in China. If you’re not sure that ExpressVPN is the right choice for you, there’s good news: you can test all its features without risking your money. The VPN comes with a money-back guarantee, so you can test ExpressVPN yourself risk-free and make sure it works with BBC iPlayer for 30 days. If you want to go with another provider, getting your money back is a fast process. I tested this by asking the 24/7 live chat agent for my refund after testing it with BBC iPlayer for 3 weeks. The agent was polite and helpful and processed my request within just a few lines of chat. She told me to expect the refund within 5-7 business days, but I got the money back only 4 days later. Watch BBC iPlayer with ExpressVPN ExpressVPN works on: Windows, Mac, Android, iOS, Linux, Blackberry, Chromebook, Xbox, PlayStation4, Firefox, Chrome, and more

2. CyberGhost — Optimized UK Servers Guaranteed to Unblock BBC iPlayer

Key Features: CyberGhost has a selection of servers optimized for streaming, and these reliably unblock the most popular streaming platforms and offer top speeds for quality video playback. CyberGhost’s BBC iPlayer made it easy to bypass the site’s proxy error message, giving me average speeds of 86Mbps. With only a 22% drop from my home network speed, I used this server to stream BBC iPlayer content in UltraHD without any lag. Better yet, I didn’t have to waste time looking for this optimized server — all I had to do was type in “BBC iPlayer” into the app’s search field, and CyberGhost found it instantly.

I was happy to learn that CyberGhost’s other streaming-optimized servers, such as ‘Netflix UK,’ also unblocked BBC iPlayer with top speeds for bufferless streaming. This was useful, as I could easily switch to this server on the rare occasions when the BBC iPlayer server became overcrowded and slow during peak times. When all streaming servers were full, I could still use CyberGhost’s regular, non-optimized locations to access BBC iPlayer. These non-optimized servers averaged 57Mbps, which is still fast enough for 4K streaming. I did get 10-20 seconds of lag before my video would start, but after this initial buffering period I could watch Match of the Day without further interruptions or pixelation.

To see if the service is worth your money, you can try using CyberGhost yourself risk-free for 45 days. After testing the VPN for 4 weeks, I decided to see if its money-back guarantee actually works. Getting a refund was super-easy using CyberGhost’s 24/7 live support chat. When I asked for my money back, the agent offered to troubleshoot any issues. I told her I simply changed my mind, and they processed my request right away. My money was back in my bank account in only 5 business days. Watch BBC iPlayer with CyberGhost CyberGhost works on: Windows, Mac, Android, iOS, Linux, Blackberry, Chromebook, Xbox, PlayStation4, Firefox, Safari, Opera, Nintendo, and more

3. Private Internet Access (PIA) — Selection of VPN Protocols to Maximize Speeds on BBC iPlayer

Key Features: Private Internet Access (PIA) offers a variety of VPN protocols, letting you maximize speeds for lag-free TV and movies on BBC iPlayer. You can choose 128-bit encryption to give your streams on BBC iPlayer an extra boost for buffer-free HD video. Even though 128-bit encryption isn’t the highest level, it’s plenty for low-risk online activities like streaming. While it’s still powerful enough to hide your data and keep your activities private, you’ll have less lag and fewer quality reductions. A small con to PIA is that a lot of its servers in the UK can’t get past BBC iPlayer’s location and proxy errors. However, this wasn’t a big deal as PIA’s UK London Streaming Server consistently unblocked BBC iPlayer instantly. I watched Top Gear in HD with only a few seconds of buffering at the beginning of the video, and it never stopped to load or gave me annoying quality drops. With an included ad and malware blocker, PIA also prevents malicious software or marketing trackers from slowing down your streams on BBC iPlayer. These can run in the background and cause lag, so by preventing ads automatically I got reliable TV and movies on BBC iPlayer even in high quality. If you want to see how it handles HD video on BBC iPlayer, you can try PIA for yourself with its 30-day money-back guarantee. As long as you cancel before the 30 days are up, you can get a full refund by contacting customer service. Watch BBC iPlayer with PIA PIA also works on: Windows, Mac, Android, iOS, Linux, Blackberry, Chromebook, Xbox, PlayStation4, Firefox, Safari, Opera, and more

Is BBC iPlayer free?

Yes, BBC iPlayer is free to use when you register with a UK postcode. However, if you travel abroad you’ll need a top-grade VPN to watch it when you travel outside the UK (even though you have a valid UK TV license). While it’s tempting to use a free VPN to watch BBC iPlayer, it’s not a good idea. There are some decent free VPNs, but even the best of them have throttled speeds and strict data caps. These restrictions make it impossible to stream HD TV or movies for more than about 20 minutes without the video cutting off. Even some high-ranked free providers are just marketing tricks to steal your browsing data and sell it for profit.. The worst free VPNs have malware in their code that could steal your logins or damage your device. Instead of risking your online safety with free providers, I recommend taking advantage of a money-back guarantee to try a premium VPN without committing. During my tests CyberGhost easily connected to BBC iPlayer, giving me fast speeds on its specialized servers for lag-free TV and movies in HD. If you’re only going to be abroad for a week or 2, Its 45-day money-back guarantee gives you plenty of time to try CyberGhost’s super-fast servers to watch your favorite shows on BBC iPlayer. If you don’t like it or it doesn’t work, you can ask for your money back when you get home to the UK.

Do I need a UK TV license to watch BBC iPlayer?

Yes, it’s illegal to watch anything on BBC iPlayer without a UK TV license. When you register for a BBC iPlayer account, you’ll have to enter your UK-based postcode. Then the BBC iPlayer app will ask if you have a valid TV license. While you can answer “yes” without providing proof, unlicensed streaming can leave you facing a criminal charge and a large fine. I don’t condone breaking UK law to watch BBC iPlayer. In addition to a valid TV license, you’ll also need a VPN if you’re traveling abroad. I connected to a server in the UK using ExpressVPN, then registered with my UK postcode SW1W 0NY. After answering “Yes” to the TV license question and confirming my email, I could catch up on all my usual BBC shows I watch when I’m at home. Just remember that even if you have a valid license, you might not be allowed to watch BBC iPlayer from outside the UK. Copyright agreements should be respected, so be sure to review the terms and conditions before connecting.

In all my tests, ExpressVPN was the most reliable VPN for BBC iPlayer. It let me register easily and watch with zero lag (even in HD). If you want to see for yourself if you get speeds as fast as I did, you can try ExpressVPN yourself entirely risk-free for 30 days. It has a money-back guarantee that lets you get a refund if you aren’t happy with it. Watch BBC iPlayer with ExpressVPN

Can I watch BBC iPlayer on Fire TV Stick, Roku TV, and other devices?

I tested how each VPN performed on different operating systems, and ExpressVPN consistently unblocked BBC iPlayer on every device I tried. Whether I used my Windows PC, Android phone, or Macbook, I always got really fast speeds for bufferless streaming. Even on 5 devices at once, my shows on BBC iPlayer started right away and never stopped to load. If you want to make sure it works on your preferred streaming device, you can try using ExpressVPN to unblock BBC iPlayer risk-free for 30 days. If you don’t get the same great results I did, just get a refund using its money-back guarantee.

Why can’t I access BBC iPlayer with my VPN?

BBC iPlayer is constantly blocking VPN servers, making it notoriously tricky to connect if you are traveling outside the UK. Even with a valid account, an up-to-date UK TV license, and a premium VPN, most of them can’t get past BBC iPlayer’s advanced location filters. If you still get errors when you try to watch with one of the providers on this list, try these troubleshooting tips: With dozens of servers in the UK that unblock BBC iPlayer, ExpressVPN never gave me any problems. Note that it does have 24/7 live chat support — if you try using ExpressVPN to unblock BBC iPlayer and it doesn’t work, help is always available. I reached out at 11pm on a Saturday to ask if ExpressVPN had a data cap, and within a minute an agent replied that there are no limits on bandwidth. Watch BBC iPlayer with ExpressVPN

What else can a VPN do?

In addition unblocking TV and movie sites, you can use a VPN to:

Watch global live sporting events on streaming services you pay good money for, even when you’re abroad or blocked Protect personal data like your location and IP address from hackers and other third parties Anonymously share files on torrent and P2P networks Stop speed throttling from your internet provider or government, giving you more value out of your internet subscription Bypass web censorship in China and other countries that restrict online content

Out of every VPN I tested, ExpressVPN is one of the only providers that could do everything on the list above — including connecting anonymously in China and other heavily-censored countries. If you will be traveling in China and want to be able to catch up on BBC shows, try ExpressVPN for super-reliable connections within China. Not even the Chinese authorities will know that you’re using a VPN. Try ExpressVPN for yourself today

Start Watching BBC iPlayer From Anywhere Today!

To watch BBC iPlayer, you need a valid UK TV license and address — but you still won’t be able to watch your usual shows and movies. That’s why you need a VPN that can bypass BBC iPlayer’s advanced location blocks. I tested 43 providers and ExpressVPN had the fastest, most reliable servers in the UK for watching BBC iPlayer even when you travel abroad or encounter technical errors. Try streaming your favorite BBC shows with ExpressVPN — even in HD, I was never interrupted by lag or a lost connection. If you aren’t happy with the service, getting a refund is easy. I asked for one via ExpressVPN’s 24/7 live chat, and they processed it immediately with no questions asked. The money was back in my account in just a few days. Watch BBC iPlayer with ExpressVPN

Summary — These Are the Best VPNs to Watch BBC iPlayer in 2023