I learned that a VPN can get around these blocks — but only if it’s powerful enough. After trying 15 different providers, I finally found 3 that unblock CBC reliably. ExpressVPN was the only one that gave me perfectly lag-free HD streams, even when I watched live broadcasts. Plus, it’s backed by a 30-day guarantee so you can buy ExpressVPN to watch CBC with no risk. If it doesn’t give you bufferless CBC streams, you can get a refund. Watch CBC with ExpressVPN now

Quick Guide: Watch CBC Canada From Anywhere in 3 Easy Steps

Watch CBC with ExpressVPN today

How a VPN Can Help You Watch CBC Canada From Anywhere

When you log into your CBC Gem Premium account, the site looks at a digital identifier linked to your location called an IP address. If your IP is associated with a blocked network, you won’t be able to log in (even though you’re a paying subscriber). CBC’s advanced filters block IPs outside of Canada (as well as at certain public hotspots and corporate networks). Even free CBC content on CBC Sports, CBC Kids, CBC News, and CBC HD won’t work — you get this error when you try to watch anything: A VPN can help you get past this error screen and access your paid account whenever you want. Using encrypted VPN servers in Canada as “tunnels” gives you a temporary new IP address, bypassing filters on CBC Gem. Then you can log in and watch your favorite shows as if you’re at home. Unfortunately, most VPNs aren’t advanced enough to sneak past CBC’s blocks. Of every provider I tested, ExpressVPN’s super-fast speeds made it the most reliable choice to unblock CBC with no lag. If you want to confirm it for yourself, you can try ExpressVPN without risking anything because of its 30-day money-back guarantee. Watch CBC with ExpressVPN

The Best VPNs to Watch CBC Canada in January 2023

1. ExpressVPN — Ultra-Fast Servers Let You Watch CBC Lag-Free in HD

Key Features: ExpressVPN’s lightning-fast server network gave me totally buffer-free HD streams of CBC shows, even when I watched the channel live. At 89Mbps and higher on servers all around the world, ExpressVPN’s speeds were so fast that I could watch in HD without ever having to worry about lag. The live channel looked just as good as it does on cable, playing seamlessly in maximum quality. During a live hockey match, I didn’t miss a single shot due to annoying lag. To find the best server for watching CBC, I used ExpressVPN’s speed test. This handy tool finds the fastest server in Canada in about a minute. Just select “Speed Test” in the menu and choose “Americas” as the region. Once the test finishes, click the star next to the fastest server in Canada to favorite it. This allows you to connect to it instantly any time you want to watch CBC. To see how ExpressVPN performed on multiple devices, I maxed out CBC’s 5-device limit with 3 PCs and 2 Android phones. Even on all 5 at once, none of my streams were interrupted by buffering. Aside from 3-5 seconds of initial loading time, I was able to watch an NHL hockey game on CBC Sports with no problems. Less powerful VPNs tend to get a lot less reliable when you max out their limits, so I was pleased that ExpressVPN performed so well with multiple connections. If you’ll be traveling to China, ExpressVPN can successfully bypass internet censorship in China and other countries with a restricted web. If you’ll be traveling there, you don’t have to miss any episodes of your favorite CBC shows. Be sure to subscribe before you go, as ExpressVPN is blocked on the Chinese mainland. Also, review the rules before traveling there. Chinese police aren’t known to arrest VPN users, but you might still get into trouble for unblocking censored websites. I don’t recommend or condone violating any laws. I like to have time to make sure I like software before I commit — and ExpressVPN has a tried-and-tested 30-day money-back guarantee. That gives you around a month to make sure it unblocks CBC reliably. If you try ExpressVPN with CBC and decide you don’t like it., you can get your money back. I asked for a refund after testing it for 22 days, reaching out via 24/7 live chat. The agent processed my request with no questions asked, and I had my money 2 days later. Watch CBC with ExpressVPN

2. CyberGhost — Preloaded With CBC Servers Optimized for Reliable Streams

Key Features: With its server optimized specifically for streaming on CBC, CyberGhost gave me 100% reliable streams with zero connection failures or buffering interruptions. Just navigate to the server menu and choose “For Streaming,” then find CBC Canada in the menu. This server is built specifically to unblock CBC reliably and let you watch lag-free. You can easily add this optimized server to your favorites by clicking the star icon. If a lot of people are using the CBC server at once, it’s possible that it could slow down slightly. That’s why I tested CyberGhost’s standard (non-streaming) servers in Canada. No matter which location-based CyberGhost server I tried, I could always log into my CBC Gem account and watch shows like Trickster even from my office network. An integrated CyberGhost ad blocker stops marketing bots from slowing your connection. By preventing your devices from communicating with URLs known to host ads and malware, CyberGhost frees up system resources that ad trackers use. This gives you smoother streams and less lag on CBC, in addition to protecting your privacy while you watch. To test its CBC streaming server for yourself, you can try CyberGhost with no risk and take advantage of its 45-day money-back guarantee. If the server doesn’t live up to your expectations, you can get a quick refund over 24/7 live chat. I tested it myself, and the agent put my request through immediately. I had my money back in 3 days. Watch CBC with CyberGhost

3. Private Internet Access (PIA) — The Most Servers in Canada for Streams That Never Slow Due to Overcrowding

Key Features: With PIA’s huge network of servers in Canada, my CBC streams never slow down due to overcrowding (which causes lag). I never miss a single joke in Kim’s Convenience thanks to the fact that PIA’s network allows users to spread out, preventing servers from filling up. I tested locations in Ontario, Montreal, Toronto, and Vancouver, and no matter which PIA server I tried I could log into CBC Gem instantly. Even in HD, my streams never slowed down whether it was a live broadcast or a classic re-run. With support for up to 10 devices on a single account (more than any other VPN on my list), you can share PIA with friends or family who are also CBC fans. One of the only VPNs I found that allows more connections is IPVanish, which has no limit on simultaneous devices. Since I never use more than 10, PIA still gives me plenty of opportunity to share my account. To try it out before you make a final decision, you can test PIA with no risk using its 30-day money-back guarantee. If it doesn’t work the way you’d hoped, just reach out via a support ticket to ask for a refund. A reply appeared in my email in less than 10 minutes saying my refund request was approved. I had the money in my account later that week. Watch CBC with PIA

Can I watch CBC Canada for free?

You can use CBC Gem to watch lots of free content, including the live broadcast and many ad-supported shows, documentaries, and movies (all without an account). Making an account unlocks additional content for free. Paying for a CBC Gem Premium subscription gives you CBC’s full library and removes all commercials. However, even if you pay you can only watch whenever you want if you have a strong VPN. Free VPNs seem attractive — but not even the decent free providers give you enough data, speeds, or servers in Canada to work with CBC. That means even if they can unblock CBC, your streams will cut off or be too laggy to watch with free VPNs. Most also interrupt your shows with annoying ads to make money. The worst free providers aren’t even real VPNs, just data honeypots to steal your information and put malware on your devices. Since all my top VPNs have tested money-back guarantees, there’s no reason to risk your online safety with dangerous “free” providers.

Can I watch CBC Canada on Roku, Fire TV, Kodi, and other devices?

Watch CBC with ExpressVPN

How to install CBC Sports on Kodi?

To install CBC sports on Kodi, connect to a server in Canada using one of my tried-and-tested VPNs. The rest of the process takes less than 5 minutes: Watch CBC with PIA

Can I watch CBC Gem from the USA or other countries outside of Canada?

CBC is blocked outside of Canada due to copyright restrictions, but some of its shows are available on Hulu and Netflix. If you’re already a paying CBC Gem subscriber and want to install it from a new device but are outside of Canada, you can use a VPN. Connect to a server in Canada and you’ll be able to log into CBC Gem and watch the shows you pay for, just as if you’re home in Canada. Just be sure to review CBC’s terms of use before you go, as there may be a rule against using a VPN to watch from the US.

What else can a VPN do?

Start Watching CBC Canada From Anywhere Today

I pay for a premium CBC Gem account, so it isn’t fair that I can’t watch from my office or when I’m on work trips abroad. I’m grateful that all it takes is a powerful VPN to unblock CBC so I can watch even when I have some downtime work. Since most VPNs aren’t strong enough to get past CBC’s filters, it took a while to finally find the ones that let me log into my paid account and watch lag-free. ExpressVPN was the only provider that unblocked my favorite CBC programming with no buffering at all. Whether I watched a hockey match, a documentary like I am Skylar or a classic show like Murdock Mysteries, I never had to deal with annoying lags. Better yet, you can try ExpressVPN to stream CBC with zero risk. Its 30-day money-back guarantee makes it easy to get a refund if you decide you don’t like it. Watch CBC with ExpressVPN

Summary — These Are the Best VPNs to Watch CBC in 2023