The only way to watch Doom Patrol from abroad is with a VPN – which hides your true location and gives you a temporary IP address in the country you choose. However, not all VPNs are good at getting around geoblocks, so it’s important to choose the right one. HBO Max is currently only supported in the U.S. and certain U.S. territories. I tested over 50 providers, and although most claimed to unblock HBO Max, I ended up seeing the same error message. To save you time, I shortlisted the 5 VPNs I found to consistently work best. The last thing you want to do is pay more money towards an already expensive subscription. That’s why the VPNs on this list range in price. ExpressVPN (my #1 pick for its fast speeds and reliability) offers a “no questions asked” money-back guarantee on all new subscriptions. Try ExpressVPN Today

Quick Guide: 3 Steps to Watch Doom Patrol on HBO Max From Anywhere

Watch Doom Patrol with ExpressVPN

Why You Need a VPN to Watch Doom Patrol on HBO Max

Streaming services buy the exclusive rights to certain shows to make their content libraries more attractive (to viewers like you and me) compared to their competitors. However, broadcasting rights are usually country-specific. HBO Max’s shows and movies are only available to you if you’re in its service area (where it has the rights to air shows like Doom Patrol) – the US. This means unless you can hide your real location, HBO Max will block you from watching its content. That’s where a VPN comes in! In simple terms, a VPN (Virtual Private Network) hides your actual location with a new IP address to make it seem like you’re located somewhere else. Since I’m in the UK, I connect to a US server to bypass HBO Max’s geoblocks. Reliable VPNs aren’t free and I recommend testing one for yourself before you commit. Here’s how: combine HBO Max’s 7-day free trial (if you don’t already have a subscription) with the 30-day money-back guarantee of a VPN on this list and use both to watch Doom Patrol 100% risk-free. Try ExpressVPN risk-free for 30 days

3 Best VPNs to Watch Doom Patrol on HBO Max From Anywhere in January 2023

1. ExpressVPN – Consistently Fast Speeds to Watch Doom Patrol on HBO Max

Key Features: ExpressVPN gave me the fastest speeds out of all of the VPNs on this list, making it my #1 choice for HBO Max. Even from the UK, I never had to wait longer than 5 seconds on any of the 10 servers I tested – and New York was the quickest at only 3 seconds. I had average overalls speeds of 58 Mbps, which is fast enough for streaming in Ultra HD. Since VPN performance is sometimes affected by overcrowding at certain times of day, I tested ExpressVPN with HBO Max over a few days at different times. I was able to stream without lag or buffering at any time. ExpressVPN consistently unblocked HBO Max and let me watch Doom Patrol in Ultra HD with no interruptions.

Although geoblocks associated with US-based streaming services tend to be the hardest to bypass, I could easily unblock Hulu, Disney+, and Netflix with ExpressVPN. Don’t just take my word for it – you can try ExpressVPN risk-free for 30 days to test with HBO Max for yourself. I used ExpressVPN for 10 days before I requested to cancel my subscription using the 24/7 live chat feature. While other VPNs try to get me to stay, I was impressed that the ExpressVPN representative immediately processed my refund with no questions asked. I had my money back in full within 5 days. Watch Doom Patrol with ExpressVPN now ExpressVPN works on: Windows, Mac, Android, iOS, Chrome, Linux, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and more

2. CyberGhost – Optimized Servers for Streaming Doom Patrol on HBO Max Without Buffering or Lag

Key Features: While CyberGhost doesn’t have any optimized servers for HBO Max, it does have one for HBO NOW. If you have a subscription to HBO NOW, you can access HBO Max for free and watch Doom Patrol with no issues. During testing, I connected to the HBO NOW server in less than 3 seconds. Although I experienced minimal buffering, my speeds were fast enough to stream HBO Max without additional lag during the rest of the show. The non-optimized servers work well too, which gives you another option to watch Doom Patrol if the optimized servers get too crowded. During my tests, I was always able to connect and start streaming shows on HBO Max in less than 10 seconds. I experienced a few seconds of buffering, but I didn’t face any more interruptions after that. CyberGhost has the longest trial period out of all the VPNs on this list and you can try it risk-free for 45 days. I tested CyberGhost’s features for 10 days before requesting a refund via the 24/7 live chat feature. The entire process took just a few minutes and I had my money back within 5 days. Watch Doom Patrol with CyberGhost now CyberGhost works on: Windows, Mac, Linux, iOS, Android, Chrome, and more

3. PrivateVPN – Small but Reliable Server Network to Watch Doom Patrol From Anywhere

Key Features: Despite only having 9 servers in the US, I never had to wait more than a few seconds to get a working connection with PrivateVPN. It performs surprisingly well for a small server network – I was able to connect to each of the 9 US servers in just a few seconds and easily unblock HBO Max. While I experienced slower speeds with PrivateVPN than ExpressVPN (up to 15Mbps slower on average), I was still able to watch HBO Max without much lag or buffering. If you want to test it yourself, you can try PrivateVPN risk-free for 30 days. Requesting a refund is a little more complicated with this service compared to other VPNs on the list. You have to submit a customer support ticket – and be sure to do it before the 30 days are up! Although the process took longer than I expected, I still had my money back in less than a week. Watch Doom Patrol with PrivateVPN now PrivateVPN works on: Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, and more

Can I Use Free VPNs to Watch Doom Patrol on HBO Max?

Yes, but you won’t get consistent access. HBO Max has strict blocking technology that even the best free VPNs can’t bypass. Even if you do manage to find a free VPN that unblocks HBO Max, your streaming will consistently be interrupted. Most free VPNs have painfully slow speeds caused by large numbers of people connecting to a small server network. This results in lags, buffering, and long waiting times. Another big downside to using a free VPN is that some compromise your security by selling your data to third parties (like advertising agencies and governments). To make sure you can watch Doom Patrol on HBO Max without issues, I always recommend using a premium VPN like ExpressVPN.  You can take advantage of ExpressVPN’s money-back guarantee to get a premium VPN risk-free. When I tested the “no questions asked” money-back policy for myself, I got my money back within a few days. All I had to do was request a refund through the 24/7 live chat feature. Try ExpressVPN risk-free

If I have HBO NOW can I watch HBO Max too?

Yes! If you already have a subscription to HBO NOW, you can watch HBO Max free of cost. As a huge added bonus, you can download anything you find on either HBO Max or HBO NOW to watch when you’re offline. I’m not sure how long this will last so be sure to take advantage of it while you can! Unlike HBO NOW, HBO Max is associated with WarnerMedia, which means you get access to newer, better content. Besides Doom Patrol, you can watch:

Series like: Westworld, Love Life, The Big Bang Theory, Friends, Rick and Morty, Betty, and more Movies like: Harry Potter, Contagion, Wonder Woman, A Monster Calls, The Lord of the Rings, and more

What devices are compatible with HBO Max?

You can watch HBO Max on a wide variety of devices, including:

Smart TVs: Apple TV (4th generation and older), Android TV, and Samsung TV (2016 and older) Smart phones, tablets, and laptops: Android, iOS, Mac, and Chromebook Gaming consoles: PlayStation 4 and Xbox One

During my tests, I was even able to watch HBO Max on my Windows PC. Sadly, HBO Max isn’t compatible with Roku yet.

Is Doom Patrol available on any other streaming platforms?

DC Universe

Seasons 1 and 2 of Doom Patrol on both DC Universe and HBO Max. DC Universe offers a 7-day free trial but there’s a catch – the Terms of Use about the refund are pretty confusing. Be sure to cancel before the week is up because you’ll automatically be billed otherwise (and no refunds are available).

Hulu and Netflix

Although some websites claim season 1 is available on Hulu and some Netflix libraries (the US and UK), I checked this for myself – and I couldn’t find Doom Patrol on either one.

Can I watch Doom Patrol for free?

Yes, you can watch Doom Patrol on HBO Max and DC Universe for free with each of their 7-day free trials. I signed up for both streaming services and was able to easily cancel my subscription after 5 days of testing without getting charged. If you’re worried about the cost of a VPN in addition to a streaming service, you can use the money-back guarantees of any VPN on this list. When you combine HBO Max’s free trial with ExpressVPN’s 30-day money-back guarantee, you can watch South Park for up to a week completely free. Try ExpressVPN completely free for 30 days

Don’t Miss Season 2 of Doom Patrol on HBO Max

Major streaming services like HBO Max are buying up the rights to additional popular series, but most of them are restricted to the US. If you don’t want to miss out on the newest seasons of shows like Doom Patrol, you need a solution to get access despite your location. A VPN is an easy way to unblock restricted content from anywhere in the world. Premium VPNs like ExpressVPN are reliable services for accessing the biggest streaming platforms, like HBO Max, Netflix, Hulu, and BBC iPlayer. The best part is that you can test a VPN yourself risk-free. With ExpressVPN’s money-back guarantee, you can stream without limits for up to 30 days before you request your refund. Get ExpressVPN today!