However, VPNs range in quality, so I tested over 55 providers to find the top 3 with large server networks in the US and fast speeds needed to stream Hulu in UltraHD. ExpressVPN’s fast speeds and reliable servers passed all of my tests making it a top choice for watching Hulu without interruptions. If you’re skeptical about getting a new subscription, rest assured you can test ExpressVPN yourself completely risk-free as it’s backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee. This gives you up to 30 days to request a refund if you decide you’re not happy with the service. Watch Hulu with ExpressVPN today

Quick Guide: 3 Steps to Watch Hulu From Anywhere

Watch Hulu with ExpressVPN

Why You Need a VPN to Watch Hulu in January 2023

Hulu is only available in the US because it isn’t licensed to offer its streaming services in other countries. To find out your location, Hulu looks at your IP address — the digital identifier that tells websites where you’re connecting from. If you’re traveling outside the US (or even use a corporate IP address), the website will stop you from accessing its content. Though it sounds straightforward, Hulu regularly updates its restrictive technology and blocks an increasing number of VPN IP addresses. To avoid the stress of using a vendor that doesn’t work with the platform, you need to get a VPN that won’t be detected. During testing, ExpressVPN had no problems unblocking Hulu while its ultra-fast speeds kept my video quality clear at all times. It’s also backed by a legitimate 30-day money-back guarantee so you can buy ExpressVPN in confidence. Watch Hulu with ExpressVPN

The Best VPNs to Watch Hulu in January 2023

1. ExpressVPN — Super-Fast Speeds on All Servers to Prevent Pixelation on Your Hulu Streams

Key Features: ExpressVPN gave me the fastest speeds out of all providers I tested, which is why it’s my top choice for watching Hulu. I tested over half of its US servers and noticed my connections were even faster than my base speeds which is normally unheard of with a VPN connection. My traffic remained consistently quick for hours without any sudden drops. This meant that ExpressVPN loaded my favorite shows like Palm Springs without any buffering and let me stream with no choppiness or pixelation. Though the VPN comes with a built-in speed test, I didn’t have to use it myself as ExpressVPN automatically connected me to the fastest US server. I could then add this server to my favorites by clicking on a star next to it. This meant that the next time I wanted to watch Hulu, I could instantly connect to the same location and start streaming in under 10 seconds. The VPN also comes with a MediaStreamer feature so I could use ExpressVPN to watch any Hulu show on my gaming consoles and other devices that aren’t VPN-compatible. All I had to do was follow easy step-by-step instructions that helped me install the VPN on my router. Once it was set up, the VPN connected all devices on my home network to the same US server so I could unblock Hulu on Smart TVs, PS5, Xbox Series X, and more. You can try ExpressVPN’s super-fast servers and buffer-free connections for watching your favorite shows on Hulu. The VPN offers a 30-day money-back guarantee letting you try its services at no extra risk. If you’re not happy with your streaming quality, it’s easy to get your money back — I tried it myself. I connected to customer service using ExpressVPN’s 24/7 chat and the agent didn’t even ask why I was canceling. She simply processed my refund, and I had the money in my bank account later that week. Watch Hulu with ExpressVPN ExpressVPN works on: Windows, Mac, Android, iOS, Linux, Blackberry, Chromebook, Xbox, PlayStation4, Firefox, Chrome, and more.

2. CyberGhost — Optimized Streaming Servers for Buffer-Free TV on Hulu

Key Features: CyberGhost has dedicated servers for streaming Hulu in high quality with negligible buffering. My testing proved the optimized locations are programmed to provide great speeds that averaged at 35Mbps across my devices. This was more than enough for my Nashville streams to retain their UltraHD quality with zero-buffering from start to finish. There are only a few servers optimized for Hulu, so I was initially worried I’d have to scroll through CyberGhost’s extensive list of servers to find them. The VPN sorts its servers into appropriate categories, so I found the specialty connections in 3 seconds after clicking the “For Streaming” tab and typing in “Hulu” in the search bar. Then I just double-clicked one of the servers and CyberGhost connected me to the best location without a delay. I like to multitask, so I was happy to see CyberGhost’s servers offer unlimited bandwidth, so I could watch live TV, download new episodes of Hulu shows, and torrent files at once. I didn’t notice any quality drops or slowdowns. The optimized servers sometimes become full, but CyberGhost’s regular US servers can also unblock Hulu and let you stream without interruptions. I found that location-based servers were a little slower than the Hulu-optimized ones, but only by 10Mbps. This meant I only had to deal with extra 10 seconds of loading time at the beginning of my stream before I could start watching. If you don’t want to commit to a long-term subscription straight away, don’t worry — you can test CyberGhost’s streaming servers with Hulu yourself first. That’s because the VPN offers a money-back guarantee which lets you get a refund within 45 days of subscribing if you change your mind. I even checked there’s absolutely no small print and used CyberGhost’s 24/7 live chat to request my refund. The VPN agent approved it without trying to change my mind and I got my money back in 4 business days. Watch Hulu with CyberGhost CyberGhost works on: Windows, Mac, Android, iOS, Linux, Chromebook, Firefox, Chrome, and more.

3. Private Internet Access (PIA) — Extremely Big Server Network to Avoid Interruptions During Streaming

Key Features: Since VPNs with small server networks often get overcrowded and cause frustrating slowdowns, I was happy to see that PIA offers one of the biggest server options on the market. Such an extensive list of locations meant I never experienced lag or buffering when I watched The Handmaid’s Tale and other shows, even in 4K. Lack of overcrowding also meant I was never kicked out of a server, which sometimes happens to me with other vendors. This let me watch every episode from start to finish without having to reconnect to a new location. PIA is one of the easiest VPNs to use on Windows, Mac, and other devices, which is helpful if you’re new to using VPNs. While the long list of servers can be overwhelming, PIA’s user-friendly interface makes it easy to find the perfect connection. The VPN highlights all fast locations in green in every available region. Simply double-click “United States” and you’ll initiate your connection. When my team and I tested the vendor, it turned out that PIA’s speeds are the fastest the closer you are to your chosen country. I enjoyed great video quality with top speeds when I used the US servers from New York. However, my colleagues in Australia and the UK reported buffering and lower resolution on their streams. This wasn’t a major drawback for anyone, but keep it in mind if you travel further away from home. Don’t base your decision just on my opinion — try PIA with Hulu yourself without any risk as the VPN offers a 30-day money-back guarantee. If you’re not happy with the features, you can easily get a refund. When I used 24/7 live chat to cancel my account, I had to explain that I chose a different VPN before a PIA agent put my refund through. I received the full fee in my bank account within a few days. Watch Hulu with PIA PIA works on: Windows, Mac, Android, iOS, Linux, Firefox, Chrome, and more.

How do I download the Hulu app to my devices if I’m outside the US?

Since Hulu is only available in US app stores, you need to use a VPN to connect to a server in the US to download Hulu abroad. This will unblock your US Google Play or App Store account letting you easily install the streaming app on your devices. If you want to download Hulu on all of your devices, you first need a VPN with equally broad device compatibility. The streaming platform supports a wide range of operating systems and devices, including iOS, macOS, Windows, Smart TVs, PlayStation, Xbox, Roku, and more. Many of these options don’t support native VPN apps, but it doesn’t mean you can’t use them to watch Hulu. ExpressVPN comes with a MediaStreamer feature that lets you download the vendor directly on your router. Doing so instantly connects every device on the same network to one VPN server allowing you to watch top Hulu shows without issues. You can test ExpressVPN for yourself risk-free and, if you’re not fully satisfied with it, get a refund within the 30-day money-back guarantee period.

Will Hulu block my account if I use a VPN?

No, but it’s not guaranteed. While there are no reports of Hulu chasing private users if they use a VPN to log in to Hulu from abroad, it could theoretically happen. This would cause you to lose your saved shows and downloaded episodes and you’d have to create a new account with a different email address. To avoid nasty surprises, your VPN should come with top-tier security technology that ensures your full online anonymity. In addition to its unbreakable encryption and leak protection, ExpressVPN comes with obfuscated servers that hide the fact you’re using a VPN in the first place. This will effectively minimize the possibility of Hulu recognizing your connection as foreign so your account can stay active for as long as you wish. The advanced protection is backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee so you can get ExpressVPN in confidence. If you don’t feel like the VPN meets your standards, you’ll have no problems getting a full refund.

Can I watch Hulu for free?

Yes, you can watch Hulu for free with its 30-day introductory trial on its ad-free plan. Additionally, Hulu offers a shorter 7-day period on other plans to let you check its features free of charge. The offers are only available for new subscribers — and you’ll need to get a premium VPN to sign up to Hulu from abroad. You don’t have to commit to a long VPN subscription either. Instead, put ExpressVPN to the test yourself before making a final decision to make sure you’re satisfied with the service. If you change your mind, you’ll have up to 30 days to ask for a refund. I got mine 4 days after requesting it.

What else can I do with a VPN?

A quality VPN easily unblocks American Netflix, Disney+, Prime Video, HBO Max, DAZN, and other streaming services you’re subscribed to. Additionally, you’ll be able to access international sporting broadcasts, including the NFC, Wimbledon, UEFA Champions League, and more. Aside from their streaming capabilities, VPNs provide you with much-needed online anonymity and security. This means you can use a VPN to stay hidden on public WiFi networks, browse torrenting websites, stop your Internet Service Provider from throttling your speeds, and more. However, keep in mind that you should never abuse a VPN connection for illegal purposes, like downloading copyrighted content. Watch Hulu with ExpressVPN

Start Watching Hulu From Anywhere Today!

You pay for your Hulu account even when you leave the country, so it’s not fair you can’t access it abroad. That’s why you should use a VPN to regain access to Hulu from anywhere. But since even the best VPNs on the market don’t always unblock Hulu, I recommend ExpressVPN as it offers the best streaming experience that’ll satisfy even the biggest critics. Its ultra-fast speeds and reliable connections are perfect for watching any show without frustrating pixelation, lagging, or buffering. You’re not risking anything if you subscribe to ExpressVPN today as the VPN comes with a 30-day money-back guarantee. So if you don’t like it, you’ll get a full refund — no questions asked. Watch Hulu with ExpressVPN

Summary — These Are the Best VPNs to Watch Hulu in 2023