If you download one of the VPNs (Virtual Private Networks) in this guide, you can mask your virtual location to sneak around Netflix’s tough detection. Since this streaming platform continuously improves its VPN-blocking technology, I extensively tested the services on this list to bring you the best VPNs to let you access Netflix and stream Mank in high-quality in January 2023. Plus, I included tips to access a biographical drama about Mankiewicz and Citizen Kane (the classic drama he wrote!) for free from anywhere. To watch this instant-classic fast, I recommend you try a top streaming VPN like ExpressVPN risk-free with its money-back guarantee for 30 days. It’s one of the best services to give you access to Netflix and stream in Ultra HD with no buffering. Try ExpressVPN risk-free for 30 days

Quick Guide: 3 Steps to Watch Mank on Netflix

Watch Mank on Netflix with ExpressVPN

Why You Need a VPN to Watch Mank

Netflix controls your access to its platform and the content it lets you see by checking the country from which you’re connecting. It uses your device’s IP address to figure out where you are. If you’re in an area that doesn’t have access to Netflix or that blocks certain content, you’ll have to mask your virtual location to be able to stream what you want. The good news is that you can use a VPN to hide your IP address and bypass these geo-restrictions. Although Mank is available in all Netflix countries, I recommend connecting to an American server as the US library has more content than any other. Once you’re connected to a VPN’s US server, you’ll be assigned an American IP address and Netflix will give you access to watch Mank and other content! Before you commit to a VPN subscription, keep in mind that not all VPNs can unblock this streaming platform (even if they claim they can!). This is because Netflix uses tough detection to block VPN servers’ IP addresses. Only the best providers can bypass the increasingly strict technology used by the platform. ExpressVPN is the most reliable Netflix VPN in January 2023 as it constantly updates its IP addresses to ensure you can watch your favorite content from anywhere. To try it yourself, I recommend you test ExpressVPN with its money-back guarantee for 30 days to see if it’s right for you! Try ExpressVPN risk-free for 30 days

2 Best VPNs to Watch Mank in January 2023

1. ExpressVPN — Lighting-Fast Servers to Access Mank Anywhere (Even China)

Key Features: ExpressVPN is a top choice for watching Mank on Netflix thanks to its huge network of high-speed servers that never fail to bypass online restrictions. With thousands of servers in Netflix-approved countries, I was pleased I could unblock the acclaimed movie without having to deal with the dreaded error message. I tested hundreds of locations and all of them provided me with fast speeds of 35Mbps. This allowed me to watch Mank in UltraHD without suffering through any buffering or long loading times. In addition to Netflix blocks, many VPNs can’t get around censorship restrictions in countries like China — but ExpressVPN can. I asked my team members who are currently residing in the country to test the provider’s capabilities. Everyone confirmed ExpressVPN could consistently bypass the Great Firewall. This means that even if you live in a country that blocks Netflix, you’ll be able to watch Mank (and other content) in HD without third-parties ever finding out. I was also pleasantly surprised that ExpressVPN allows users to create website shortcuts within its app. This allowed me to open Netflix as soon as my VPN was connected without searching for it in my browser or on my phone. It made the whole process a lot quicker because I could start watching Mank in under 1 minute as my stream loaded immediately. The only slight con I discovered is that ExpressVPN is a bit pricier than its competitors. That said, I don’t think paying a few extra dollars a month is a big deal since it gives you unbeatable speeds and works even in the most strictly-censored countries. Plus, you can review these ExpressVPN coupons to get the best price available. As a new customer, you can also use ExpressVPN for free for 30 days with its money-back guarantee. If you don’t want to commit to a long-term subscription, simply ask for a refund using the 24/7 live chat available on its website. I was pleasantly surprised that ExpressVPN provides “no-questions-asked” refunds, so I didn’t even have to explain why I wanted to cancel. The whole process took less than 4 minutes and I received my refund within 6 days. Watch Mank with ExpressVPN ExpressVPN works on: macOS, Windows, iOS, Android, Linux, Chromebook, Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and more.

2. CyberGhost — Optimized Streaming Services to Watch Mank Safely

Key Features: Aside from being the most affordable option on my list, CyberGhost offers several servers optimized for streaming Netflix. During testing, I connected to these servers and found I had no trouble accessing the site, and was able to stream safely. I was also relieved that these optimized servers didn’t experience any unexpected speed drops, even when I was using all of CyberGhost’s 7 device connections! To make sure it can still unlock all the libraries it claims to in January 2023, I put CyberGhost to the test. I was also able to watch other shows by connecting to servers in Japan, France, Canada, Mexico, and many other countries. I was pleased that each connection managed to unblock the streaming service on the first try. That meant I didn’t have to waste time changing settings manually or searching for different servers. According to my results, CyberGhost wasn’t quite as fast as ExpressVPN. The servers closest to my home (like France and Germany), provided me with the fastest connections of 22Mbps. Unfortunately, the further away the country I connected was, the slower my streaming speeds were. I could still watch Mank in every Netflix country, but I had to reduce the video quality and endure a few seconds of longer loading times on servers in the US or Australia. While this wasn’t much of an issue for me, you might experience some lag if your baseline speed is slower than mine. Before you make your decision, you can test CyberGhost yourself for free for 30 days and watch Mank safely. If you’re not satisfied with the streaming quality, ask for a refund by contacting customer service before the money-back guarantee period ends. There’s absolutely no risk involved: I made sure of it during testing. I received my refund a week after requesting it through live chat. Watch Mank with CyberGhost CyberGhost works on: macOS, Windows, iOS, Android, Linux, Chrome, Firefox, and more.

DON’T Risk Using Free VPNs to Watch Mank

Even though many free VPNs claim to work with Netflix, most are dangerous or can’t unblock Mank. Over my 6+ years in cybersecurity, I’ve put hundreds of free VPNs to the test (including top free providers, like TunnelBear). Unfortunately, many of them can’t even unblock Netflix. The only vendor that could bypass its restrictions gave me a horrible streaming experience. Not only did I have to wait 3 minutes for Mank to even start playing, but the movie also paused to buffer every 20 seconds or so! Free VPNs have these performance problems because they offer limited servers, slow streaming speeds, data caps, and bandwidth restrictions. With the few services that could unblock Netflix, I was frustrated that my data ran out so quickly that I only managed to watch the first 10 minutes of Mank. Considering my streams were almost unwatchable as well, I can confirm that free VPNs are not worth the frustration and hassle they bring. Unfortunately, it gets worse — many free VPNs purposefully put your security at risk to make a profit. These providers are known to record your personal details and online activity to sell them to shady third-parties. This could expose you to identity fraud or enable hackers to remotely access your devices! If you need a free solution to unblock Netflix, I recommend you take advantage of CyberGhost’s money-back guarantee. This will let you stream the Netflix Original movie Mank for free for 30 days without putting yourself at risk. Just remember to ask for a refund before the time is up and you’ll get your money back! Try CyberGhost for free for 30 days

? Where can I see Citizen Kane before watching Mank on Netflix?

I’d highly recommend using BBC iPlayer to watch Citizen Kane as you can take advantage of its free trial. You’ll need to register with your email and a random UK postcode, like L1 8JQ, PO16 7GZ, CR2 6XH, or any other that you can easily look up as you don’t have to verify it. Keep in mind that BBC iPlayer is restricted to UK users, so you’ll need a VPN with local servers to access it. ExpressVPN has a proven record of bypassing BBC location blocks, but you can test it for yourself with its money-back guarantee that lasts for 30 days! If you’re wondering whether you should watch this classic prior to watching Mank, the answer is yes! It’ll definitely add extra depth to Netflix’s movie. That’s because the biographical feature focuses on Herman J. Mankiewicz’s life and tries to answer the question whether he actually was the sole writer of Citizen Kane. The Netflix Original is also set to include a few inside references to Mankiewicz’s script, including the writer’s famous last words and various jokes. You won’t regret watching it! Watch Citizen Kane with ExpressVPN

? Is Mank available on HBO NOW, SHOWTIME, and other streaming platforms?

No, Mank is only available to watch on Netflix with no comments from the streaming provider on whether it’ll ever be available to watch on any other platform. Luckily, you don’t have to spend extra money to watch Mank — Netflix comes with a 7-day free trial for new customers. Combined with CyberGhost’s 45-day money-back guarantee, you can unblock Netflix and watch Mank for free for a full week!

?If I’m paying for a VPN, what else can I use it for?

A top-tier VPN can do much more than guarantee your access to Mank. Since VPNs mask your IP address, they let you access geo-restricted streaming sites from anywhere and protect your online privacy. A VPN also enhances your online security by fully encrypting your traffic. Such protection effectively hides your online habits and personal data from third-party surveillance by the government, your Internet Service Provider, and hackers. It’s particularly useful if you regularly shop online, access banking sites, or download torrent files. Watch Mank with ExpressVPN

Start Watching Mank From Anywhere Today!

It’s impossible to bypass Netflix location restrictions and online censorship without a VPN. Don’t miss out on this Netflix Original biographical drama just because you’re in a country that blocks you from accessing the streaming platform! After rigorous testing, I found that ExpressVPN has the most reliable and consistent technology to unblock Netflix from anywhere. Aside from allowing me to watch Mank in highest resolution and with minimal loading time, I could also use it to catch up on other Netflix shows otherwise blocked in my country. You can even watch Mank risk-free for 30 days with ExpressVPN’s money-back guarantee. If you decide the service isn’t right for you, you can ask for a refund and get your money back without an issue. When I went through the process, I got my money back in only 5 days! Watch Mank on Netflix with ExpressVPN