A VPN is a secure network that allows you to watch RTE by giving you an IP address in Ireland, which makes the site think you’re connecting from your usual location. You simply connect to a server location in Ireland and you’re in! But, not every VPN can help you safely access your RTE account. That’s why I’ve tested 31 VPNs and recommend ExpressVPN due to its high-speed connections with no buffering. ExpressVPN has high speed and its security features protect you from data leaks and hackers as well. Connect to RTE today and buy ExpressVPN risk-free, it’s backed by a money-back guarantee of 30 days. If you aren’t happy with the service, it’s easy to get a refund. Watch RTE with ExpressVPN today

Quick Guide: 3 Steps to Watch RTE From Anywhere in 2023

Watch RTE with ExpressVPN

How a VPN Can Help You Watch RTE From Anywhere in 2023

RTE can only be viewed with Irish IPs. So, if you’re traveling and trying to watch RTE from outside of Ireland (or are just encountering technical problems), you will see the following restrictive message: It isn’t fair that even though you’re an Irish citizen, you can’t watch your favorite RTE shows while you travel abroad. A VPN (Virtual Private Network) will allow you to bypass the geo-restrictions on streaming platforms and region-specific broadcasts like RTE. When connected, the VPN will find a server in Ireland. My top recommendation ― ExpressVPN ― constantly updates its servers and IP addresses so that you can watch RTE and other streaming platforms from anywhere. Try ExpressVPN risk-free today with its 30-day money-back guarantee and see how easy it is for yourself. If you aren’t happy with the service, ExpressVPN will give you your money back. Watch RTE with ExpressVPN now

Best VPNs to Watch RTE Player in January 2023

1. ExpressVPN — Lightning-Fast Irish Servers to Watch RTE From Anywhere

Key Features: ExpressVPN is an excellent choice if you are looking for lightning speed with thousands of servers. This gives you a high-quality streaming experience with unlimited bandwidth. The server network all over the world makes it very easy to connect. Speeds were consistently high averaging 91Mbps. This speed means a quality streaming experience with minimal lags or buffering, and could stream HD as well. When I connected to the Irish server, I only saw a minor drop of speed between 3Mbps to 5Mbps. So, the quality of RTE shows remained high. With ExpressVPN, you won’t have to sift through servers to find the best connection. You get the server you need. ExpressVPN also provides IP tunneling which helps you watch most streaming platforms securely. After checking on a DNS leak website, I confirmed that my IP was never leaked while using ExpressVPN. This test confirmed that RTE or other streaming platforms weren’t able to decipher my location throughout. Hence, I was able to watch high-quality content continuously. Lastly, if you’re worried about purchasing ExpressVPN without trying out its streaming benefits, I got you covered. I tested the refund policy to see if that checked out. It did. The refund process was very easy. Express VPN is the only VPN I’ve tested that offers refunds no questions asked. Support staff did not try to persuade me to stay with ExpressVPN or ask me any long winded questions. I got all my money back in 3 days with ease. Try ExpressVPN to watch RTE risk-free with its 30-day money-back guarantee — you can ask for a refund if you don’t enjoy it. Watch RTE with ExpressVPN now ExpressVPN works on: All major platforms. Windows, Mac, Android, iOS, Linux, Blackberry, Chromebook, Xbox, PlayStation4, Firefox, Chrome, and more.

2. CyberGhost — Dedicated Streaming Servers to Access RTE From Wherever You Are

Key Features: CyberGhost has an intuitive and simple setup that took me only a few minutes to get started. My experience watching RTE was seamless and had no awkward buffering or lagging situations. With CyberGhost’s global network of servers, my average speed remained between 20Mbps and 30Mbps versus my base speed of around 35Mbps. So, I was able to stream RTE in UltraHD with ease. When I connected to the Irish server through CyberGhost to test the speed, I only saw an 8Mbps drop in speed. For extra speed and performance, you can connect to streaming optimized servers and watch RTE shows. When I connected to these optimized servers, I didn’t see the minor lags or buffers that I experienced with other servers. Once I selected my country (Ireland), I was able to select the Irish server that I wanted to connect to based on the Ping, Distance, and Load. Ping refers to the time it takes for your device to talk to the server, and load refers to how full a server is with other users. The lower the ping and load, the better my streaming experience was, so I liked having these metrics displayed within the menu. Alternatively, you can simply choose the country and CyberGhost will automatically connect you to the best server. I recommend this option because it’s easier and you don’t have to sift through all the Dublin servers. If you experience performance issues, you can connect to dedicated streaming servers for RTE. I tested CyberGhost’s security by running a few DNS leak tests. These would show if private data like my real location leaked out while I was connected. The test showed only CyberGhost’s IP address, showing that I was really anonymous on its encrypted servers. This means that I could watch my favorite shows like Would You Believe securely — RTE had no way to know that I was traveling abroad on vacation. Don’t just take my word. With CyberGhost’s 45-day money-back guarantee, you can easily try CyberGhost for yourself risk-free. When I requested my refund over live chat, the whole process took less than 5 minutes. The money was back in my account in just 4 days! Watch RTE with CyberGhost CyberGhost works on: All major platforms. Windows, Mac, Android, iOS, Linux, Bing, Firefox, Chrome, and other browsers.

3. Private Internet Access (PIA) — Stream Content From 10 Devices at an Affordable Price

Key Features: When I tried to watch RTE content using PIA, I was only successful in doing so 12 out of 20 times when I was traveling outside of Ireland. So, in my experience, ExpressVPN and CyberGhost were more reliable to watch RTE. However, you may have better luck as VPN providers keep tweaking features and enhancing capabilities frequently. In addition to RTE, I also tested Netflix content, and I was able to successfully stream Netflix US content. I experienced an average speed of about 30Mbps, and there were no buffers or lags once the content started streaming. I lost about 8Mbps from my base speed when I connected to the Irish server, but this did not impact the video quality. PIA has upwards of 35k servers worldwide, and over 100 in Ireland. With such a huge network, This means that you can always get the best quality when watching RTE because there is a lower probability of user overload (which interferes with streams). Unlike CyberGhost, you won’t be able to pick a server based on ping, distance, and load — but PIA will automatically pick the best server for you. Security is one of my top concerns when connecting to a VPN. So, I validated PIA’s commitment to security by testing if there were any DNS leaks while I was connected. My testing system only detected PIA’s secure server, showing that my online activities and other data were really anonymous while I watched RTE. If you’re not happy with PIA’s features, you can get a full refund risk free. When I requested a refund after using PIA for about 2 weeks, I got all of my money back in about 3 days. Try Private Internet Access risk-free with its 30-day money-back guarantee for yourself and enjoy secure streaming. Watch RTE with Private Internet Access (PIA) Private Internet Access works on: All major platforms like Windows, Mac, Android, iOS, Linux, Opera, Firefox, Chrome, and more.

Will the RTE player block my VPN?

The RTE Player may block your VPN if you’re trying to watch geo-restricted content. However, you should be good to watch RTE with these top VPN providers. During my tests only Private Internet Access gave me some problems, but even then I was able to unblock RTE after trying some alternative servers in Ireland. Most VPNs don’t even work, but I never saw the proxy error at all with ExpressVPN. I have found that in some cases, overseas servers sometimes need an extra attempt to connect. If you are having problems, try another Irish IP address and relaunch the RTE player. I personally never had any problems watching RTE with ExpressVPN, since it has a broad range of reliable servers in Ireland. Try ExpressVPN risk-free with its money-back guarantee to see it for yourself. You can cancel at any time if you don’t like it or want to use a different provider. Watch RTE with ExpressVPN today

How can I watch RTE for free?

You can watch the RTE Player for free, but RTE generates revenue by showing ads during streams. VPNs like ExpressVPN work well on Windows, making AdBlock very easy to use to block ads on the RTE Player. You can unblock ads on RTE Player by using the AdBlock from Google Chrome Extensions. Add the extension to your toolbar, and click on the red hand at the top when you are on the RTE Player page. Click “Always” to block the ads always on that page, and you are done. You may be asked one more time to exclude, and click “Exclude” if you see that prompt. Combined with an ad blocker, ExpressVPN helps block background trackers that can cause extra lag during RTE broadcasts. In addition to protecting your privacy, this also gives you reliable smooth video on its streaming-optimized servers. If you want to see for yourself if it gives you smooth RTE streams, try ExpressVPN risk free for 30 days. Every subscription comes with the insurance of a money-back guarantee. Watch RTE with ExpressVPN

Can I use the RTE player on my smart TV, Firestick, and other devices?

RTE Player is supported on a number of devices and operating systems, including Windows, Mac, and Linux systems. ExpressVPN is also compatible with many operating systems. RTE Player is also supported by a number of mobile devices, including Apple and Android products. Casting for RTE is supported by Chromecast and Airplay, and RTE is available on many LG and Samsung Smart TV models. ExpressVPN is a VPN that supports all of these devices, including the devices that RTE Player does not support. You won’t need an Ireland-based device to use RTE Player. The devices you already have will work. Install ExpressVPN on any of the devices that support the RTE Player, and you will be able to watch RTE without any snags. ExpressVPN allows you to install on up to 5 devices. Try it for yourself. Install ExpressVPN risk-free on one device and test the connection using the ExpressVPN 30-day money-back guarantee. Watch RTE with ExpressVPN

What other things can I do with a VPN?

The most common use for a VPN is streaming content from platforms. A good VPN also helps you tackle online censorship in internet-monitored countries such as China, Iran, and Saudi Arabia.There are a lot of other things you can do with a VPN too, like shopping, overseas banking, or surfing the Internet in a secure way. VPNs also offer the added advantage of a secure Internet experience. A top-tier VPN will ensure any Internet activity is completely private. This is especially important when you are using public Wifi connections at hotels, airports, and coffee shops. You want a VPN with encryption technology that protects your data and your IP address at the same time. This prevents hackers and DNS leaks that will expose your location or the websites that you are surfing when online. ExpressVPN is a VPN that offers all of this safety and accessibility online. It successfully unblocks almost every streaming platform and is useful and secure when shopping. You can run DNS leak tests from the ExpressVPN website to ensure your privacy. Try ExpressVPN risk free with its money-back guarantee for 30 days and experience its security for yourself. Watch RTE securely with ExpressVPN

What shows are available on the RTE Player?

There are a number of shows you can stream with the RTE Player, including movies, news, sporting events, and popular shows like Seinfeld and The Good Wife. All of this can be streamed on the RTE Player when you bypass the proxy server or error message with a VPN. You’ll be able to access channels such as RTE One, RTE News, Ireland Weather, documentary movies like Lance, Fertility Shock, and Letters from Lockdown. Once you dive into RTE Player and begin streaming, you won’t want to stop watching Irish programs. Use ExpressVPN to access all of these and more. Connect to the RTE Player today and download ExpressVPN to try risk-free with its 30-day money back guarantee. If it doesn’t work with RTE Player the way you expected, the refund policy is no-questions asked.

Start Watching RTE Player From Anywhere Today!

RTE Player is an exciting streaming service offering great Irish programs that you don’t have to miss when you are traveling or having technical issues. All you need to use RTE Player is a good VPN that lets you stream with high-quality playback and no buffering or lags. I’ve tested 31 VPNs and these are the top 3 I found. They are affordable, feature-abundant, and will unblock RTE players from anywhere. All three provide superior quality for successful streaming on multiple platforms, but ExpressVPN was the most reliable for watching RTE Player with zero lag. I recommend that you try ExpressVPN first, because it is the easiest to use when it comes to server selection. It’s also supported by a 30-day money back guarantee that lets you try ExpressVPN with zero risk. Then you can see for yourself how it performs with RTE Player, and get your money back if you don’t like it. Watch RTE Player with ExpressVPN now

Summary — These Are the Best VPNs to Watch RTE Player in 2023