Before you choose a service, you have to know that no two VPNs are the same and many of them don’t work with Showtime. To save you time, money, and disappointment, I tested 50+ popular VPNs to recommend the best options for streaming in HD whenever you want to. ExpressVPN is a fantastic choice for watching Showtime as its US servers reliably unblock the platform and provide great speeds needed for high video quality. You can even test ExpressVPN for yourself risk-free as the VPN is backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee. So if you don’t like it, it’s super easy to get a refund. Watch Showtime with ExpressVPN

Quick Guide: 3 Easy Steps to Watch Showtime From Anywhere

Watch Showtime with ExpressVPN

How a VPN Helps You Watch Showtime While You’re Traveling

Since Showtime restricts its content only to viewers in the US, you’ll be blocked by this annoying error message if you try to watch it from abroad: Showtime checks if you’re within its broadcasting area by scanning your IP address, so you need to hide it in order to bypass the pesky message. Connecting to a VPN swaps your IP address with one from its server’s database so when Showtime scans your connection, it’ll think you’re still in the US. It’ll also help you if you tend to get the streaming error inside the country, for example when you’re using a corporate network to watch Showtime hit shows. Streaming any content, especially live, uses a ton of bandwidth which is why most VPNs give you high pixelation, constant lags, and persistent buffering. ExpressVPN is a fantastic option for streaming as it reliably unblocks Showtime in HD with no lagging. You can even use its 30-day money-back guarantee to test ExpressVPN risk-free yourself. If you struggle to watch Showtime at any point during that time, you can easily get a full refund. Access Showtime with ExpressVPN

The Best VPNs to Watch Showtime in January 2023

1. ExpressVPN — Its Lightning-Fast Speeds Help You Watch Showtime With No Lags or Buffering

Key Features: ExpressVPN is a top choice for watching Showtime as its ultra-fast US servers unblocked the platform in seconds and let me watch with zero lag. I was expecting my speeds to drop when I connected (which usually happens with most VPNs), but ExpressVPN kept my traffic almost on par with my base internet speed. That’s because the vendor ensures all of its US servers always provide amazing streaming quality. This proved to be true during my tests as I experienced no interruptions while using ExpressVPN to stream hit shows like Homeland. Though the VPN comes with a built-in speed test tool I could use, ExpressVPN easily found the fastest server for me after I selected the US as my preferred country. I made sure it really was the best connection available when I ran checks on it myself. Every server the VPN chose was always the fastest on the list. I also liked that I could save particularly fast servers to my favorites and connect to them quicker next time I wanted to access Showtime. To try the unbelievably fast speeds, you should test ExpressVPN with Showtime shows and movies at no risk. Since the VPN is backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee, you can get a refund if the vendor doesn’t meet your expectations. I canceled my account 27 days using the 24/7 live chat. The VPN rep approved my refund without pressuring me to change my mind — and I received the money 5 days after. Watch Showtime with ExpressVPN

2. CyberGhost — Guaranteed Access to Showtime in HD With Its Streaming-Optimized Servers

Key Features: Even better, CyberGhost’s streaming servers come with an integrated adblocker. This stops any ads and trackers from wasting your bandwidth and speeds maximizing your connection’s streaming capabilities. Though the optimized locations may become full at times, I discovered I could use CyberGhost’s regular servers to watch Showtime in a similar high quality. They were slightly slower than the streaming connections, but I didn’t notice any major differences when watching Dexter or Shameless. I only had to wait an additional 10 seconds before my streams loaded. With the VPN’s 45-day money-back guarantee, you’ll have more than enough time to put CyberGhost to the test yourself before making a final decision. If you don’t like it, you’re eligible to get a refund as long as you ask for it during the guarantee period. I discovered CyberGhost also practices no-questions-asked refunds, so my request was approved just a minute after I connected to the 24/7 live chat. The VPN returned my money that same week. Watch Showtime with CyberGhost

3. Private Internet Access (PIA) — Easily Unblocks Showtime From Anywhere With a Huge US Server Network

Key Features: Overcrowded servers often mean slower speeds, but Private Internet Acess’ US server network means you won’t deal with sudden slowdowns as you watch Showtime. This meant I never missed crucial parts of any shows on the platform and could rewatch both seasons of Sleeper Cell with zero interruptions. During testing, I used PIA’s servers to unblock Showtime Anytime, Hulu, fuboTV, and Sling TV, and watched Californication in UltraHD with minimal buffering at the beginning. However, I found that my speeds changed when I connected to a server on the other side of the US. This meant I had to endure longer loading and slight lags — but could avoid it by choosing a server a lot closer to my actual location. I also think that PIA is one of the best VPNs for Windows, Mac, iPhone, and other devices. Its app is intuitive to navigate, letting me connect in just 2 clicks of a button. So I didn’t have to waste my time and could jump straight into the next episode of Shameless. As a new subscriber, you’ll get to test PIA’s servers with Showtime risk-free for as long as 30 days. If you don’t think it’s what you’re looking for, reach out to customer help and ask for a refund. I did it myself after using the VPN for 23 days. Unlike with the other 2 VPNs, I had to explain why I wanted to cancel, but the PIA agent processed my refund when I said I wasn’t interested anymore. I noticed the money back in my account after 7 business days. Watch Showtime with PIA

Where to Watch Showtime in January 2023

You can watch any content on Showtime through its standalone Showtime Anytime app. Simply log in to your account or sign up on one of the devices compatible with Showtime and start streaming shows like Billions, The L Word, and more. You’ll get free access to the app if you already have an existing TV subscription that includes access to Showtime channels. However, the streaming platform is also available as an add-on on other third-party websites. So if you already have existing subscriptions to any of the services below, simply add Showtime to your monthly bill — some sites even include showtime in their plans. These platforms constantly update their geo-restrictions, so you need a top-quality VPN to unblock them to access Showtime from abroad. Through rigorous testing, I found that ExpressVPN has one of the most advanced unblocking technologies so you won’t be blocked by the annoying streaming errors. If you still have doubts, you can use ExpressVPN to watch Showtime on any platform risk-free as it offers a 30-day money-back guarantee. That way you can get a full refund if the VPN fails to meet your expectations. Try ExpressVPN without any risk

How to Subscribe to Showtime From Anywhere

You can subscribe to Showtime using a gift card or a US credit card/PayPal account. As Showtime is a US-based service, you should only subscribe to it when you’re in the country since setting up a new account abroad breaks the site’s Terms and Conditions. So if you know you’re likely to want to use the platform abroad, create a new Showtime account before you travel.

Set Up a New Showtime Account Using a Gift Card

Sign up to Showtime with ExpressVPN

Pay for Your Showtime Account With a US Credit Card

Subscribe to Showtime with ExpressVPN

Can I watch Showtime for free?

Yes, you’ll get to use Showtime free of charge for 30 days when you subscribe to the platform. Additionally, you’ll get a discounted rate for 3 months after your trial ends. After that, your subscription price will resume at the standard rate. To watch Showtime from abroad, you’ll need to also subscribe to a VPN service. Doing so requires immediate payment, which could be off-putting, especially when you’re not 100% sure if a vendor is worth the hype. Luckily, you don’t have to commit to it straight away. You can put ExpressVPN to the test yourself without risking losing your money. The VPN is backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee, so you can easily get a refund if you decide not to keep your subscription. Try ExpressVPN risk-free

Which devices can I watch Showtime on?

After you connect to a VPN, you can Showtime through its own app or a third-party platform on: Not all of these devices are compatible with a VPN though. To watch Showtime on every device you own, I recommend downloading ExpressVPN as you can install the VPN directly on your router. Installing a VPN on your home network automatically connects all devices on your WiFi to the same server, regardless of whether they’re compatible with VPNs or not. Setting it up took me just under 5 minutes due to easy instructions I found on ExpressVPN’s website. If you don’t want to be restricted only to certain devices, use ExpressVPN to watch Showtime on any operating system you’d like. Don’t worry — if you decide you don’t like it, you have up to 30 days to request a refund and close your account. I received my money back only 5 days after canceling my subscription. Use ExpressVPN to watch Showtime

Yes, it’s legal to use a VPN to watch Showtime, but it’s a bit complicated. Though there has never been a case of Showtime or any other platform chasing its users for watching shows abroad, it could still technically happen. While you shouldn’t face issues if you’re using a VPN to watch Showtime in the US, I can’t guarantee the platform won’t block you if it recognizes you’re outside the country. This is why I would advise you to get ExpressVPN as its obfuscated servers are great at hiding that you’re using a VPN in the first place. This effectively masks your location and stops Showtime (and other streaming services), your Internet Service Provider, and even the government won’t know where you are. So the possibility of Showtime banning your account gets reduced to a minimum. And you can use ExpressVPN completely risk-free with its 30-day money-back guarantee. Watch Showtime with ExpressVPN

How do I select the best VPN for Showtime?

To make sure I recommend only the best VPNs for streaming Showtime, I put to the test over 50 different vendors and checked which ones meet my very strict criteria: Unfortunately, during my tests, I also came across VPNs with questionable security practices which is a big red flag. Every VPN should provide you with full anonymity through a no-logs policy that prevents it from collecting your personal data. It’s standard ethical practice, but I found that the 5 VPNs below didn’t stick to it as much as they should. To avoid nasty surprises, I suggest picking a VPN that’s completely transparent about the security and anonymity it provides. I liked that PIA let me fully customize my privacy settings so I could apply the toughest encryption available and keep my connection fully invisible. This gave me peace of mind knowing Showtime (or anyone else) wouldn’t be able to see any of my private details, like my location. The VPN also comes with a 30-day money-back guarantee so you can use PIA with Showtime at no risk to you. If you don’t think it’s as reliable as it should be, request a full refund and you’ll get your money back without any issues. Watch Showtime with PIA

Can I use a free VPN to watch Showtime?

Though there are somewhat safe free VPNs, I can’t recommend any because most of them don’t unblock Showtime. That’s because they don’t have the appropriate technology needed for reliable access to any streaming platforms. In addition to that, free VPNs offer much smaller server networks, capped data and speeds, as well as limited bandwidth. They often also rely on advertisements to make any profit at all. This means that even if you find a service that works with Showtime, your stream will be slow, pixelated, filled with ads, and not at all enjoyable. Worse yet, free VPNs put your data at risk as they regularly sell your information to shady third parties, like government agencies and even hackers. This is extremely dangerous and could lead to you being involved in scams, identity theft, and other cyberattacks. It’s a much better idea to download a VPN with a legitimate money-back guarantee. That way you’ll have a chance to fully test its features with Showtime shows before deciding if it’s the right service for you. I recommend you try CyberGhost’s streaming capabilities risk-free. The vendor offers no-questions-asked refunds so if you find you’re not fully satisfied, you’ll get your money back without a fuss. Access Showtime with CyberGhost

What else can a VPN help me do?

Additionally, a VPN applies extreme protection to your traffic through multiple different security features, like robust encryption. This means that you’ll stay safe and anonymous even on public WiFi networks, for example in restaurants, hotels, cafés, or libraries. It’ll give you extra peace of mind and let you watch Showtime anywhere without putting your data at risk. Watch anything you want with ExpressVPN

Start Watching Showtime From Anywhere Today

Showtime holds some of the most popular shows in the world and it regularly expands its content library, but you could miss out on it when you travel out of the US. Luckily, you can use a VPN to regain access to your Showtime account (or set up a new one) from anywhere in the world. Setting up your connection will take less than a minute and you’ll be able to keep up with the best shows, like Dexter, The Affair, Californication, and more, in full HD. But since not all VPNs work with Showtime, you need to be careful with which provider you choose to not waste your money. My top choice is ExpressVPN as its US servers easily bypass Showtime’s restrictions and let me watch anything even in 4K. And you can use ExpressVPN to watch Showtime at no risk for 30 days. If you discover it doesn’t work properly at any point during that time, you have the right to get a full refund. Unblock Showtime with ExpressVPN

Summary — Watch Showtime From Anywhere With These VPNs (Updated 2023)