I had to test over 20 top providers to find the 3 best VPNs for unblocking US-restricted Syfy shows. With its fast speeds, ExpressVPN was the best at unblocking Syfy in HD with zero lag. I never missed a new science fiction show or had a fight scene ruined by buffering. You can test ExpressVPN for yourself totally risk-free because it’s backed by a no-questions-asked 30-day money-back guarantee. You can easily get a refund if you don’t think it’s a good fit. Watch Syfy with ExpressVPN at no risk!

Quick Guide: 3 Steps to Watch Syfy From Anywhere

Watch Syfy with ExpressVPN

How a VPN Can Help You Watch Syfy in January 2023

If you live outside the US, the standard way to watch Syfy shows is via a cable network. If you don’t have a cable subscription or you’re in a country that doesn’t have Syfy, you will need to use a US-based streaming platform and a VPN to watch. Streaming sites use your IP address to find out your location, and block channels (like Syfy) that aren’t licensed to show there. A VPN gives you a new IP to make it look like you’re in the US, so you can bypass streaming site geo-restrictions and watch Syfy no matter where you are. All you need is a US-based payment method (like a gift card) to get a free trial to one of the streaming services that have Syfy. However, not all VPNs are powerful enough to unblock these US-restricted TV sites. Popular sites like Hulu, Philo, and HBO MAX can still detect and block VPNs with errors. Although you are generally not violating the terms of streaming services by using a VPN, you may be doing so if you use a VPN to watch channels or shows that are not allowed in your location. To watch Battlestar Galactica when I was traveling, I had to use a trusted VPN service to bypass even the strictest geoblocks. I found that ExpressVPN was able to deliver the best streaming quality with no lag or buffering. If you don’t want to take my word for it — you can test ExpressVPN totally risk-free with its hassle-free 30-day money-back guarantee. If it doesn’t fit your needs, you can get a full refund no questions asked. Watch Syfy with ExpressVPN

The Best VPNs to Watch Syfy From Anywhere in January 2023

1. ExpressVPN — Super-Fast VPN for Syfy With Speedy Servers to Watch Buffer-Free In HD

Key Features: ExpressVPN’s Lightway VPN protocol was engineered for fast streaming speeds, and it shows. I could stream shows on Syfy in full HD with no lag at all. My favorite Syfy series like Battlestar Galactica never stopped to load and was just as smooth as it is on regular cable TV. Even watching on 5 devices at once, Syfy was lag-free on every ExpressVPN server I tested. With speeds around 90-100Mbps, I never had to worry about sudden reductions in video quality like I get with a lot of other VPNs. Finding the best server to watch Syfy is easy with ExpressVPN’s automatic connection button. Once you choose “United States” in the location drop-down, just double-click “connect” and the app will use the fastest available server. This saves you from having to look through servers manually or experiment to find the best option. I discovered ExpressVPN also has a Media Streamer feature, which can get you even faster Syfy streaming speeds. It’s a DNS service, which basically means your connection will no longer be secured with encryption but servers will be more responsive. It’s a nice option if you don’t need the extra security of encryption and want to focus on getting the highest possible speeds. You can use the 30-day money-back guarantee to test ExpressVPN with Syfy for yourself before making a final decision. Live chat support is available 24/7 — as long as you message them within the 30 day limit, you can get your money back. I tested ExpressVPN for about a week and requested my money back via their online chat support. An agent answered within 3 minutes and completed my request with no questions asked. The money was back in my account in just 3 business days. Watch Syfy with ExpressVPN

2. CyberGhost — Optimized Streaming Servers For Reliable Connections Watching Syfy on Hulu, YouTubeTV, and Other Apps

Key Features: CyberGhost has dedicated servers specifically for streaming services that have Syfy, giving you reliable connections when you’re watching live shows. I tested servers specialized for YouTubeTV, SlingTV, HBO MAX, and Hulu, and my Scare Tactics episode never stopped due to a lost connection or sudden buffering in the middle. With servers optimized for watching live TV, I didn’t miss a single moment of the journey James takes to travel back in time to prevent the spread of a plague in 12 Monkeys. To see if CyberGhost’s non-streaming optimized servers would unblock Syfy, I tried a few servers throughout the US and logged into 3 TV streaming services. While my speeds were 10-20% slower on US-based servers, I was still able to watch Syfy live on YouTube TV, SlingTV, and HBO MAX. I just had to wait 5-10 seconds at the beginning for my stream to begin, and then I watched buffer-free. With the ability to watch on 7 devices with just one account, you can share CyberGhost with friends or family who are Syfy fans as well. Most VPNs can’t handle more than a few connections without slowing down, so I tested it by watching Syfy live on 2 Windows PCs, 3 Android phones, and 2 iPhones. Aside from a few seconds of lag at the very beginning, I was happy to find that my streams weren’t affected at all. You can even try CyberGhost and then get a refund after you’ve caught up on your favorite shows. After testing CyberGhost for a few days, I was able to use its 45-day money-back guarantee policy and get my money back. I sent a message to the live chat, and I received a response almost immediately even though it was 5:30 in the morning. Within a few minutes they had processed my refund request — I saw the money in my bank account in under a week. Watch Syfy with CyberGhost

3. Private Internet Access — Huge Network of Servers in the US That Never Get Overcrowded When I Watch Syfy

Key Features: With Private Internet Access (PIA)’s massive network in the US, my streams never slowed down due to server overcrowding while I watched shows on Syfy. Since there were so many servers that unblock popular streaming services like Netflix, Syfy, and Hulu, I didn’t encounter any annoying buffering interruptions. Unlike VPNs with crowded server networks, my video quality never suddenly became pixelated during a show or movie. To find PIA servers that will give you lag-free streams, you can sort by ping. Ping is how long it takes your device to communicate with the VPN server, so higher ping can cause lag. To avoid having to wait, I tested servers near me in the US with the lowest ping, and never had more than 3-5 seconds of lag before my shows started. As an added bonus, PIA is the most affordable provider on this list and it offers very attractive plans. During my research, I even found lots of VPNs that cost more than PIA, but have way fewer servers and features. Once I finished testing PIA, I was able to get my money back with its 30-day money-back guarantee. You can try PIA risk-free with Syfy the same way — just request a refund via email or live chat within 30 days. I sent an email to their customer support requesting a refund. The next day I received a confirmation email that the refund would be in my account in 5 working days. It only took 3 days for the money to show in my bank account. Watch Syfy with PIA Private Internet Access works on: Windows, Android, macOS, iOS, Chrome, Linux, Chromebook, Chromecast, routers, and more.

Where to Watch Syfy in 2023 Without Cable

Watch Lifetime with ExpressVPN

Can I watch Syfy for free?

You can watch Syfy for free by combining a streaming service’s free trial with the money-back guarantee of a VPN on this list. Just sign up for a free trial of Hulu+Live TV, SlingTV, YouTubeTV, or another live TV streaming service with Syfy. Then subscribe to one of the top VPNs. As all the VPNs on my list have a money-back guarantee of 30 days or more, you’ll have time to try watching Syfy risk-free and get your refund if you’re not happy with your VPN choice. Even though free VPNs are tempting, I would caution against using them to watch Syfy. Lots of free VPNs have constant ads and sell your data to third parties, which puts you at risk for identity theft. Even the decent free providers have bandwidth, server, and speed limits that make it impossible to watch live TV shows without technical problems. Since premium providers are still really affordable, it isn’t worth risking your online safety for a limited free VPN that tracks you or interrupts your shows with ads. Besides, bandwidth limits on free VPNs will cause your show to cut off in the middle when you run out of data. That never happens with ExpressVPN, which has such fast servers that I could watch Syfy in HD with zero lag. Better yet, you can test ExpressVPN without risking anything with its 30-day money-back guarantee. It’s easy to get a refund if it doesn’t work for you.

How can I watch Syfy without cable?

You can watch the Syfy channel without cable by logging into a US-based TV streaming site that offers it live. Services like YouTubeTV, HBO MAX, SlingTV, Philo, and Hulu with the Live TV add-on all include the Syfy channel. Since these streaming sites block anyone with an IP from outside the US, I made sure that every VPN on my list has servers in the US that can access them. With ExpressVPN’s super-speedy network, you can watch your favorite Syfy shows without cable completely buffer-free. To make it easy, test out ExpressVPN’s fast and reliable servers with Syfy before making a committment — it even has a 30-day money-back guarantee. If you experience any lag at all, you can get a refund with no questions asked. Try ExpressVPN risk-free

What shows and movies are on Syfy?

Syfy has a broad selection of new and classic science fiction, fantasy, and horror TV shows and movies. You can watch them all, as long as you have a quality VPN like the ones on my list. Syfy also produces original content I love, such as:

Shows: Resident Alien, Sanctuary, Eureka, The Expanse, The Magicians, Alien News Desk, Wyonna Earp Movies: Leprechaun, Day of Reckoning, Dead in the Water, Don’t Feed the Humans, Dr. Havoc’s Diary, The Descent, Wyvern

How can I find the best server location to watch Syfy shows with no buffering?

Once you download a VPN with a fast network for streaming, use its automatic connection button to let the VPN find the fastest streaming option for you. If you use CyberGhost, check the streaming menu for servers optimized to unblock sites like YouTube TV, FuboTV, and others that have Syfy. I used ExpressVPN’s smart location feature to find the speediest server and never encountered any lag during my shows.You can test ExpressVPN completely risk-free because it offers a 30-day money-back guarantee. Watch Syfy lag-free with ExpressVPN

Can I watch Syfy on my Roku, Fire Stick, Apple TV, or other devices?

You can watch Syfy on Roku, Fire Stick, Apple TV, Chromecast with Google TV, and other TV streaming devices. Most of these work with streaming apps that have Syfy like SlingTV, YouTube TV, Philo, and Hulu with the Live TV add-on. Once you subscribe to one of these sites, you can also watch using the native Syfy app. All my top VPNs are compatible with those devices and TV streaming sites (plus the Syfy app). That means that regardless of what streaming device and TV service you combine, you can watch your favorite science fiction shows and movies no matter where you are. I tested them myself to make sure every VPN on this list unblocks multiple live TV services instantly.

Start Watching Syfy From Anywhere Today!

If you travel to a country that doesn’t have the Syfy Channel, you need a live TV streaming service and VPN to watch Syfy. I spent hours testing VPN vendors to see which ones unblocked live TV streaming sites that have Syfy, and found the 3 best. ExpressVPN’s lightning-fast server speeds made it the clear winner, giving me consistently lag-free streams that looked just as good as they do on real cable. When using ExpressVPN I never got interrupted when a big secret was revealed on Eureka or a zombie attacked Nicole on Wynonna Earp. To see it for yourself, you can test ExpressVPN completely risk-free with its 30-day money-back guarantee. If you don’t like its features and want a refund, ExpressVPN support agents will refund you with no questions! Watch Syfy with ExpressVPN today!

Summary — These Are the Best VPNs to Watch Syfy in 2023